Romanian History and Culture

A Library of Knowledge from the Web. An Educational Website.

Vlachs - XI-XIV  century in  Transylvania and Banat






“ex Karan-Sebesso Valachorum oppido”.

In A.D. 558 the Avars, a tribe of nomad shepherds of Turkish origin, are mentioned in Banat, led by Bayan (558-605), and in 559 the Kutrigurs, nomad people related to the Huns, led by Zabergan, allied with the Slavs and the Bulgarians, entered our lands. Because they represented a permanent threat to the Byzantine Empire, in the year 593, the generals Petru and Priscus lead a victorious expedition against the Slav and Avar tribes.
In the year 602 the Danubian defence lines fall, through the mass migration of the Slavs to the south of the Danube.
The first archaeological findings from the Caransebes area, which mention the existence of some settlements of the local sedentary population, different from those of Slavs or Avars, date from the 8th and the 9th century in the Potoc area and on the Romanilor Street.
A diploma released by Emperor Basil II the Bulgarohton of Byzantium (976-1025), in 1020, mentioned an “Episcopal Roman camp” in Dibiskos, perhaps old Tibiscum from the Romans’ time, and the neo-Latin population who lives to the North and South of the Danube appears under the name of Wallachians.
The 11th century is a period of unrest and penetration of the migratory populations, especially the Hungarians which succeed to dominate the zone around Caransebes, including it inside the Banat of Severin, for in the 12th century the centre was transferred from Tibiscum to Caransebes. Now, we pass from the ancient settlement to the new medieval town, which will develop around the fortress.
The King Ladislau IV visits the fortress in the year 1289 and returns here in 1290, when on the 29th of April in a document the name of Caransebes is mentioned. This is considered to be the first documentary certification of the city. Caransebes is called Opidum (burg), like in the registers of the papal taxes between the 1332 and 1337. After I. Bartolomei, the first mention about Caransebes was made in a consignation of papal taxes from the 12th century.
In the 14th century the fortress, the city and the Romanian district appear under the name of Sebes. In fact Caran and Sebes were two distinct settlements on a side and on the other of the Timis River.The name of “Caran” is, probably, of Celtic origin and means “stone place”, and “Sebes” is the name of a river, word of Dacian origin.
Another hypothesis is that the name of our city was Sebes and Caran (Cauran, Caravan, Cavaran) was added, imposed by the necessity to distinguish it from other cities with the same name in the country, Caran being situated 14 km north on the place where the Constantin Daicoviciu (former Cavaran) commune is today.
Another opinion is that the name of the city comes from “kara” – black – in the language of the migratory peoples from Asia and “sebes” – meaning fast – in Hungarian.
The name of the city in the complete form of “Caransebes” is encountered in the chancellery documents beginning with 1370 (in districtu Karansebesus).
The castellans of the fortress were remembered in the documents of that period, so that in 1318, Petru, the ruler of the Sebes County is mentioned in a document signed by King Carol Robert, and in 1325 appears as castellan Szeri Posa.
Caransebes, a compact Romanian living area, was an important settlement, because in the year 1352 it is remembered as the capital of the Sebes province, and from the year 1360, as the capital of the Banat of Severin and administrative, political and military centre of the eight autonomous Romanian districts of Banat. We can remark that the term “banat” was the name given to the provinces in which the Wallachian-Bulgarian State with the capital at Tarnovo was divided, and “severin” comes from “sever”, which means North in Slav.
The community meetings from here illustrate the power of the Romanian nobles and the local autonomy, from which Romanians benefited in the institutional cadre imposed by the angevine royalty. But Caransebes wasn’t only the residence of the district where these meetings took place, but also the primary centre where the common judge forum of the eight districts met. The day of meeting was Thursday and it remained, from the Dark Age till today, the market day of Caransebes.
The first lord of Caransebes, remembered in 1360, was called Sturza or Sturzo.We must say that until Ioan Popa, in 1688, the leaders of the city were, almost all, Romanian and we mention among those: Stefan Dan (1457), Nicolae Lazar (1494), Stefan Stoica (1498), Matei Lazar (1515), Petru Racovita (1535), Pavel Bucosnita (1561), Nicolae Florea (1581), Ion Iosiga (1593), Nicolae Moise (1599), Mihai Voevod Vaida (1601), Todor (1627), Lugojan (1635), Simion (1648), Florea (1654). The Hungarian chronicler Szamoskozy wrote, before 1598, about the Romanian noble Stefan Iosiga, who became chancellor of Ardeal that he is from the Romanian town Caransebes – “ex Karan-Sebesso Valachorum oppido”.
In 1369, the first meeting of the Romanians from Banat is testified, when the “community of the lords and other Romanians in the Sebes district”, like “all the rich and poor from the fortress of Sebes” demands to the governor Benedict Himfy the absolution of a new tax.
There are documents that attest, in 1365, John V, on his way to Buda, is received with great feast in Caransebes, and in 1419, King Sigismund visits the city several times, coming back in 1428 and 1429. On the 9th of July 1424, in a diploma, King Sigismund tells about “castro nostro Sebesiensi”.


There were many stone churches all over Transylvania, some of them still present today, most of them in Hunedoara county, founded by the Romanian local kneazes: Densus (already mentioned above, rebuilt in the 13th century), Streisangeorgiu (12th century) - with frescoes dating from 1313-1314 and an inscription mentioning priest Nanes and painter Teofil, rebuilt in 1408-1409 by kneaz Candres and his wife Nistora - Strei, Santamaria, Orlea, Cetatea Coltului, Gurasada (all of them dating from the 13th century), Ostrov, Sanpetru, Nucsoara; Pesteana, Lesnic, Criscior, Ribita, monastery of Prislop (all of them from the 14th century), and in some other parts of Transylvania: monastery of Rameti, county of Alba (14th century), with an inscription dating from 1377 mentioning the name of archbishop Ghelasie and painter Mihu, Zlatna and Lupsa, in the county of Alba, church of saint Nicholas in Scheii Brasovului (15th century, on the place of an older one), Vad and Feleac, in the county of Cluj (15th century) and many others. The same can be said about the monasteries in Banat: Bezdin, Partos, Lipova, Semlac, Sangeorge, Sredistea Mica, Varadia, Mesici, Voilovita, Cubin, Zlatita, Cusici, Bazias, Ciclova, Ogradena Veche, all of them dating from the 14th - 15th centuries. In Bihor, the Romanian kneazes built the monastery in Voievozi (12th - 14th centuries), the churches in Seghiste, Remetea, Tileagd (14th - 15th centuries) a.s.o. In Maramures we mention the monastery of Saint Michael in Peri, placed under the jurisdiction of the Patriarchate of Constantinople in 1391, the churches in Cuhea, Ieud, the White Church, Apsa de Mijloc, Sarasau, Barsana etc., all of them dating from the 14th - 15th centuries. The mediaeval documents mention many archpriests, priests and egumens who used to serve in the respective churches and monasteries.


With so many churches and monasteries, priests and monks mentioned, it is natural to think that there must have been bishops too, to consecrate the respective churches and monasteries, to ordain priests and to appoint archpriests and egumens. The numerous oppressive measures taken by the popes or the Hungarian kings (especially by Ludovic the Great in 1366 and by Sigismund of Luxemburg in 1428) against the Romanian Orthodox Church over here prove the existence of certain Romanian bishops in Transylvania. Such measures were not necessary but against a Church well organised and not against some isolated Christians with no religious leaders who could have been easily converted to Catholicism. All these are indisputable proofs on the continuity of the Romanian Orthodox element in the intra-Carpathian territories.


For the 13th -14th centuries we also have news about the religious life of the Romanians living in the south and east of the Carpathians. So, a Metropolitan See is documentary mentioned with the seat in Vicina, a place identified by most researchers with today’s Isaccea, the old Noviodunum, on the right bank of the Danube, close to the Delta. This one must have been a continuation of the diocese that we supposed to have existed, in the 9th - 12th centuries, in the north of Dobrudgea, in Dinogetia - Garvan. The hierarchs from Vicina (Teodor, Luca, Macarie, Chiril, Iachint) were of Greek origin, under the jurisdiction of the Patriarchate of Constantinople. In the first half of the 14th century the importance of Vicina diminished because of the frequent invasions of the Tatars in the north of the Black Sea. The town was led at that time by Basarab I, ruler of Wallachia. The last metropolitan of Vicina, Iachint, would be moved by prince Nicolae Alexandru Basarab to the metropolitan see of Oungro-Wallachia, an act recognised by the Ecumenical Patriarchate in 1359.


A letter of Gregory IX, dated November 1234, mentioned a few “pseudo-bishops of Greek rite” in the region in the curb of the Carpathians, close to the Catholic diocese of the Cumans, set up a few years before. These ones were Romanian Orthodox bishops, as the mediaeval papal office used to call all the bishops “pseudo-bishops and Greeks”, irrespective of their ethnic origin. We also learn from a diploma given by king Bela IV of Hungary to the knights of Saint John of Jerusalem, on June 2, 1247, in which the political units headed by rulers Litovoi on the Jiu river, in Oltenia and Seneslau on the Arges river and kneazes Ioan and Farcas were mentioned - both of them on the right bank of the Olt river - of a few “archbishops and bishops”, certainly of Romanian origin. That means that each political unit had a religious leader, too.


 Magyarization of the population of Pannonia and Transylvania. A Proces that Never Ended.

 At the time of mongol invasion, 1241,Transilvania could not be ruled without Romanian nobles suport, so the voivode of Transilvania was a Romanian, Posea. The Mongol invasion, afected more the Hungarians, and less the Romanians ( who even help mongols in some circumstances ), because in that times, Romanian teritory was still covered with huge forests, and was 30 % mountains, places were Mongols didn't enter, and were the bulk of romanian population took refuge. They, instead, atacked more in the plains, (like Pannonia, were bulk of Maghyars lived, and in Transylvania where the Saxons and Szekely lived), their cities and castels. This invasion, and the diseases and famine who come after, killed some 60 % of already weakened and small maghyar population. It was a disaster who almost destroy the Maghyars, at least the original Maghyars (mongolic ones) who make today just a small part of Hungarians,documented in 'Carmen Miserabile super Destructione Regni Hungariae per Tartaros' (Latin for "Sad Song for the destruction of the Kingdom of Hungary by the Tartars") an account written by Rogerius of Apulia'

This is the moment when Hungarians, to recover themselves, started the policy of Magyarization  by allowing romanians, slavs,cumans, and germans to enter in their nobility, with two condition:  to become catholic and to change their Romanian or Saxon names into  Magyar names as Candea into Kendeffy. This is the moment when Hungarian language receive an amount of arround  2300 words, of romanians words  as romanians inhabited Pannonia and Transylvania before the Magyar invasion. Later, in the medieval time, Hungary and Transilvania were ruled as distinct entities, and very distinct one after Hungary disapered, after Mohacs.

Discution at :


Is located in Central-Western Transylvania occupying an area of 7025 square kilometers (2712 square miles). Lying on the mid-course of the Mures River, the district is guarded to the north by the Western Carpathian Mountains (Apuseni Mountains), to the south-east by the Parâng Mountains, to the south-west by the Retezat and Poiana Ruscãi Mountains. The Hunedoara district is crossed by the rivers Streri, Cerna, Râu Mare (Grand River), Crisul Alb (White Crish) and Jiu, which form two large depressions, Tara Hategului (Hatzeg Land) and Tara Zarandului (Zarand Land). These regions are very rich in minerals. Gold and silver ores have been exploited in the Apuseni Mountains since the ancient times. The Hatzeg country is also known since the ancient times as "The Iron Gates of Transylvania", a strategic region guarded by ancient and medieval citadels, very rich in iron ore which has been exploited since ancient times in Poiana Ruscãi Mountains. On a latin inscription discovered in the region, a local is described as "natas ibi, ubi ferum nascitur", translated as "was born where iron is born".


The early traditions where started here

The Hateg Land is one the most important areas where early Romania states, centers which observed the Latin-Byzantine traditions and the Christianism, have been established.

Preserved 'till our days, situated in extrenely picturesque place, the small churches in the Hateg Land, from the 1100-1200 centuries, are admirable samples of a small but charming architecture. Raised in the second half of the 1100 century and used as a chapel, the church from Streisangeorgiu, seems to be the oldes wallbuilding in Romania. One cannot help remarking its volume, its perfect simplicity as well as a steeple tower, wich rises above a neve, and a small sanctuary, with still maintains fragments of the orginal painting, dated 1313. In Santamaria - Orlea and Strei localities two churches were built around 1270. Those churches belonged to some country squires. Both the first, chapel of Cande family, and the second, a foundation of some Boyar Ambrozie, have inside precious mural paintings, dated from the 1400 century. Both churches, having small dimensions, are designed for the orthodox ritual, with their nave separated by the sanctuary. The steeple-tower placed at the entrace, and the general aspect suggest influences of Roman architecture. Built in the 1300 century of rocks taken from the ruins of the ancient capital of Roman Dacia, Ulpia Traiana Sarmisegetusa, the small church from Densus is one of the most interesting architectonic monuments in Romania

 In the 13th century some papal bullae requested the suppression of the liberty of cult for the Orthodox believers in the countries ruled by Roman Catholics. So, almost all along the Dark Ages, the Romanians from Transylvania were not allowed to build stone churches, just wooden ones, but in defience of the bullae they did both. 



Prof.univ.dr. Lucian IONESCU

Universitatea Creştină „Dimitrie Cantemir” Bucureşti 


   One of the basic problems the research of mural inscriptions found in old religious places is confronted with is the fact they are far from being clearly seen because of the colors that started to fade away, because of erosion or because of the impurities (the century old layers of smoke that practically covered and hid them to sight) that hamper their being correctly deciphered and read.

      This paper is not supposed to speak about the forensic techniques used in revealing the fade- away inscriptions, which, in principle, are very similar with those used in the examination of the documents: images contrasting in color and brightness, use of infra red and ultra violet radiations, etc. In this particular case the interest of the author is focused on his personal experience achieved in the period 1977-1978 when he was given the chance to bring his contribution at examining the medieval patrimony within a multidisciplinary team of high class researchers. In this context it is presented the discovery of the unexpected elements in Strei and Râmeţ churches, which enabled the re-evaluation of the data known until late about the art, the culture and the Orthodoxy of the Transylvanian XIV-th and XV-the centuries were concerned. 




The Romanian Peasant Museum in Bucharest has recently published a photographic monograph on the oldest stone churches in the Hateg Land, Hunedoara County, in central-western Romania. The album includes snapshots of 16 chapels built in the 13th to 16th centuries.
As it was under the authority of the Hungarian royalty and of the Catholic church at the time and had constant ties with the West, Transylvania offered fertile ground for Western influences. Romanian rulers built Orthodox churches which, although drawing heavily on Romanesque-Gothic architecture, were decorated with frescoes intended for the Orthodox denomination. In terms of architecture, they fall into the hall-church category, with one nave, usually small, and the altar generally square or semi-circular in shape, and with a bell tower in the west. What is worth noting as regards the architecture of these churches is the painting, which is often accompanied by inscriptions or documents that are useful in accurately dating the frescoes. Art critic Ecaterina Buculei gave us details on these interesting historical monuments:
“What is highly interesting is this blending of East and West in the building, the design and the painting of these monuments, and I should start with an example, whose author is unknown, but which is known to be the oldest painting in Romania. It's older than everything else preserved in Wallachia or Moldavia. It's the church in Sîntamarie Orlea, where a Latin inscription mentions the year 1311. Another church whose construction date is known, and whose painter is also known, is the Strei-Sîngiorz Church, built in 1313-1314. Actually, the parallel between the two churches is very interesting. Sintamarie is perhaps the most majestic of the churches in the Hateg Land; it preserves the oldest mural complex in our country – plus we have the inscription, so we know the year. Today the church serves the Reformed community, but originally it was a Catholic church, belonging to a Catholic congregation ???which settled in Hateg in the late 13th Century.”
According to the dedication in Slavonic, preserved on the eastern wall of the apse, the author of the fresco is Teofil Zugravul, who was the first to paint scenes with military saints on horseback. 14 km from the town of Simeria, there is another old Transylvanian monument in the Romanesque–Gothic style: the Strei Church. It is made of rubble stone on the ruins of a Roman settlement whose traces are still visible to this day. Ecaterina Buculei:
“Inside the Strei church, the painting is an example of the blending of various cultures. It is the work of three artists: a painter of the Romanesque-Gothic tradition, one of the Byzantine tradition and a Renaissance artist. Moreover, in Strei we have a lot of portraits of stone carvers, holding their carving tools, which is less common in Byzantine painting, as well as portraits of the painters. This is the influence of the Western tradition. In the church at Leşnic, a very small church with a very interesting fresco, once again featuring saints on horseback, there is also a painting of the church founders, who are depicted as kneeling down. Then we have a painting of the Last Judgement, which covers more than half of the church, and an inscription as poetic as it is dramatic. It reads, 'Oh, my brethren, fright has come upon me on earth for my many sins'.”
One of the oldest Romanian stone churches in Transilvania is in Crişcior, 6 km from Brad. The church, built under the order of ruler Balea, preserves fragments from valuable paintings made around 1410.
Built from river boulders with Roman inscriptions, caps and tombstones, the Densuş church looks strange, inviting both admiration and bewilderment. Fragments of painting are barely discernible, which were made by painter Stefan, probably a Transilvanian representative of Wallachian art.
Unfortunately, the stone churches in Hateg have fallen in disrepair. The album published by the Romanian Peasant Museum is intended to stir interest in their restoration, and for tourists it is one more reason to discover their beauty and timeless appeal. 

STREISANGEORGIU CHURCH (1131-1141) to (1331-1314)

File:Streisangeorgiu HD.SE.jpg


  Remember (Romanian only)


Conştiinţa publică ar trebui să recunoască imediat despre ce ar fi vorba… Numai că, există aşa ceva în România? În naivitatea noastră, ne străduim să o hrănim, atât cât se poate.
În urmă cu mai bine de 30 de ani (1975), Radu Popa a condus o echipă de cercetare care s-a ocupat de biserica ortodoxă aflată în hotarul satului, lângă noua încropire urbană a Călanului Nou (jud. Hunedoara). A fost una dintre cele mai performante împliniri ale „vechiului regim”. Aici vom reface traseul şi concluziile acestor cercetări. Nu o facem doar pentru excepţionala ei importanţă, ci şi pentru a atrage atenţia că monumentul este astăzi totalmente neglijat, din punctul de vedere al restaurării şi a semnificaţiei sale istorico-artistice. Principala sursă a informaţiilor a constituit-o Revista Muzeelor şi Monumentelor. Monumente Istorice şi de Artă, nr. 1, 1978. Păstrarea tonalităţilor alb-negre este deliberată. Nu doar pentru a sublinia vechimea documentelor, ci şi pentru a marca tristeţea.
Radu Popa (foto 1) a trecut în evidenţă istoriografia bisericii. A urmat apoi contextualizarea istorică şi zonală (foto 2). S-au discutat mai ales genealogiile ctitorilor menţionaţi în pisania cunoscută (1408) (foto 3 şi foto 4) şi în izvoarele scrise publicate    (foto 5).

Ceea ce a urmat a fost relevanţa arheologică. Practic, bisericuţa a fost săpată exhaustiv (foto 6). S-a constatat că pronaosul a fost ridicat mai întâi din lemn, probabil în secolul al XVIII-lea, apoi din piatră (pe la 1850). În rest, chiar uşor dezaxată la relaţia dintre altar şi navă, biserica de piatră s-a dovedit unitară din clipa iniţială de construcţie. Doar materialul de construcţie, respectiv spoliile romane aduse de la o villa rustica învecinată, au obligat naşterea planimetriei speciale. Aceleaşi materiale romane au fost mai generoase decât s-a crezut iniţial. Au folosit şi pentru podire (o lespede decorată cu delfini) şi pentru mobilierul interior (jilţ dintr-un altar). Un „relief creştin” care prezintă un posibil arc frânt prelungit cu o cruce, a provocat cele mai multe semne de întrebare. Ele au rămas nerezolvate până astăzi.
Principala descoperire a lui Radu Popa a fost însă pisania cea veche. Încercând să adapteze instalaţia improvizată de curent electric la nevoile de săpătură, istoricul a scos din peretele de est al altarului un cui masiv. În jurul lui a descoperit primele litere. A urmat apoi scoaterea la lumină a pisaniei datate în anii 1331-1314 (foto 7). Ea arăta că biserica, cu hramuri complicate, ale Sfântului Gheorghe, Maicii Domnului şi Tuturor Sfinţilor (ceea ce dovedeste trei faze de executie), a fost făcută pentru iertarea păcatelor lui Balea cneazul, a popii Naneş şi a zugravului Teofil.

Streisangiorgiu church


Dar, tot Radu Popa a observat imediat că stratul pisaniei de la 1313-1314, nu era cel mai vechi, ci al doilea. Primul, observat în alte sectoare (piciorul de nord al arcului de triumf), era puternic înnegrit de funingine şi prezenta litere chirilice grafitate. 
Investigarea necropolei a atras mai întâi atenţia asupra unui grup de circa şase morminte mai vechi decât biserica. Ele au fost asociate cu o biserică de lemn anterioară. Pentru datarea lor a venit în ajutor o monedă găurită, emisă de către regele maghiar Bela al II-lea (1131-1141). Concluzia s-a formulat astfel: biserica de lemn de la Streisângeorgiu a apărut înaintea mijlocului secolului al XII-lea. Ca urmare, Radu Popa avea toate temeiurile să afirme: „la Streisângeorgiu ne aflăm în faţa celui mai vechi monument medieval sigur datat şi păstrat în picioare de pe întreg teritoriul ţării, monument care şi-a păstrat până astăzi destinaţia originară”.
O bună parte a inventarului funerar (foto 8) indica faptul că se utilizaseră din plin elemente aparţinătoare aşa-numitei „culturi Bjelo-Brdo”. Ele fuseseră socotite drept aparţinătoare numai unor populaţii slavo-maghiare. Or, descoperirea demonstra că o asemenea exclusivitate nu se mai poate susţine, românii fiind şi ei purtători ai aceloraşi elemente de cultură materială.
Grupajul dedicat monumentului, continua cu o zăbovire asupra inscripţiilor medievale, efectuată de către Gheorghe Mihăilă (foto 9). Analiza lexicală arăta doar folosirea unei limbi slave corecte. Nu se ajungea la nici un fel de concluzie privitoare la înrudirile pisaniilor cu alte documente de limbă, contemporane.
Vasile Drăguţ s-a ocupat de peticele de frescă pe care arheologii şi, parţial, restauratorii, le-au scos la iveală. Pe lângă menţionarea unor sfinţi episcopi şi celor doi imenşi cai, aflaţi în altar, se reproduceau imaginile Judecăţii de Apoi de pe peretele de vest a navei, cu Raiul (foto 10) şi Iadul (foto 11). Îngemănarea influenţelor artistice din arta Bizanţului, cu cea a unor meşteri de influenţă occidentală, era principala concluzie formulată. Veşmântul de frescă avea să rămână cel mai mult neglijat. Dacă sondaje şi chiar curăţiri pe suprafeţe mai mari, au avut loc în zona altarului, cea mai mare parte a picturilor navei a rămas până astăzi acoperită de o tencuială simplă, fără nici un fel de valoare.
Şerban Popescu-Dolj a efectuat un studiu de arhitectură (foto 12 şi foto 13). Numai pe baza verificărilor exterioare, se stabilea că fazei iniţiale i-au fost adăugate două contraforturi, iar pe la 1408 a primit turnul-clopotniţă, cu tribuna interioară. În urma constatărilor sale, pronaosul de la 1850 a fost demolat, dându-i-se bisericii forma originară.
Un grup de pictori restauratori (Oliviu Boldura, Şerban Angelescu, Marius Rădulescu, Gabriela Mruczinschi) a descris toate staturile picturale (foto 14 şi foto 15). Decapările au rămas neîncheiate. Dacă arheologicii nu ar fi scormonit atunci, nici la peste 30 de ani, nu am fi văzut nimic din podoaba bisericii!
Ioan Popovici şi M. Adam au produs primul studiu de antropologie (foto 16).
Gheorghe Baltag a prelucrat podoabele din jurul bisericii (foto 17). Unele dintre ele aparţin epocilor mai noi (foto 18), altele se remarcau prin aceia că erau de aur (foto 19).
Victor Eskenasy a investigat vecinătăţile bisericii (foto 20), reuşind să descopere o locuinţă pe care a legat-o de ctitorii bisericii (foto 21). Deja atunci, blocurile de locuinţe împiedicaseră extinderea săpăturii. Dar era clar că zona trebuia urmărită în continuare. Cât priveşte semnalarea curţii, se pare mai noi, din hotarul satului Streisângeorgiu, despre ea nu s-a mai auzit, niciodată, nici un alt cuvânt.
Cel mai tânăr participant, Adrian Andrei Rusu, a primit „în dar” o parte a grafitelor din interiorul bisericii (foto 22). Ele erau pluguri (foto 23). Au apărut publicate în Revista de Istorie, 29, nr. 7, 1976. Toate celelalte grafite, cu însemnări dintre cele mai importante, au rămas necopiate şi nepublicate.  

Istoriografia monumentului

(crâmpeie nesemnificative, la cei neimplicaţi în cercetare)
Histoire de la Transylvanie. Sous la direction de Béla Köpeczi. Budapest, 1992: aşezat în subcapitolul „Rolul bisericii romano-catolice în prima parte a epocii arpadiene” (p. 168); biserica românească, cu inscripţia 1313-1314, şi elementele ei (p. 215). Neilustrat.
O istorie a Românilor. Studii critice. Coordonatori Stephen Fischer-Galaţi, Dinu C. Giurăscu, Ioan-Aurel Pop. Cluj-Napoca, 1998: refacerea bisericii la 1313, de un cnez Balea („poate a pavimentului”) (p. 62); inscripţie slavonă, în şir cu altele (p. 115); pictură cu influenţe combinate estice şi vestice (p. 117); atestarea vieţii creştine a românilor, rezistentă la catolicism, în şir cu altele (p. 174). Neilustrat.
Cristian Moisescu, Arhitectura românească veche. I. Bucureşti, 2001: toată problematică monumentului este detaliată (p. 21-24). Ilustrat.
Istoria Românilor. Vol. III. Genezele româneşti. Coordonatori Şt. Pascu, Răzvan Theodorescu. Bucureşti, 2001: menţionarea reşedinţei cneziale (p. 6, 358); datarea în prima jumătate a secolului al XII-lea (p. 359); biserica în sine (p. 462-463, 596); pisania (p. 16, desen p. 618); menţionarea popii (p. 453). Nicio altă ilustraţie nu a putut fi socotită utilă sau nu s-a putut utiliza.
Istoria Transilvaniei. Vol. I (până la 1541). Coordonatori Ioan-Aurel Pop, Thomas Nägler. Cluj-Napoca, 2003: biserici vechi, în şir (p. 273); semnalarea pisaniilor de ctitorire (p. 274). Neilustrat.
Destinul implicaţilor
(în ordinea menţionării în text)
Radu Popa – decedat
Gheorghe Mihăilă – decedat
Vasile Drăguţ – decedat
Şerban Popescu-Dolj – pensionar
Oliviu Boldura – profesor universitar, Bucureşti
Şerban Angelescu – ?
Marius Rădulescu – ?
Gabriela Mruczinschi – ?
Ioana Popovici – decedată
M. Adam – ?
Gheorghe Baltag – muzeograf Muzeul Municipal, Sighişoara
Victor Eskenasy – corespondent Radio Europa Liberă; Praga
Adrian Andrei Rusu – cercetător ştiinţific, Cluj-Napoca. Cel care a inspirat acest Remember.

The church of Streisingeorgiu is considered the oldest Romanian medieval monument. It has been constructed by princes of the Bâlea family before the XII century, in the place of a wooden church built sometime during the VII or VIII century. Historians have found several arguments to prove the church's age. Among these is a slavonic inscription found on the church's walls which dates back to 1314, coins from the time of king Bela (1131 – 1141 Ad) found in 2 of the graves near the church consist further proof to sustain this theory. Judging by the crude and rustic outline of the masonry the church was most likely built by locals. Inside the church on the east front of the tower, we can still find the following inscription:"în numele Tatălui şi Fiului şi Duhului Sfânt, au zidit jupân Cândreş şi jupâniţa lui Nistora şi fiii lui această mănăstire Sfântului mare mucenic şi ataş a lui Hristos, Gheorghe şi s-a săvârşit şi s-a scris, pentru pomenirea şi sănătatea şi mântuirea sufletelor lor, în zilele lui Jigmon crai, voievozi ai plaiurilor fiind Ioaneş şi Iacov, anul 6917 (1409), octombrie 2 zile”", which roughly translates to:"In the name of the father, and the son, and the holy spirit, maser Cândreş and mistress Nistora and sons have built this monastery for the great holly martyr and servant of Christ Gheorghe and it has been done, and it has been written, for the eternal memory and the health and the salvation of their souls, in the days of the prince Jigmon, rulerss of this land being Ioaneş and Iacov, year 6917 (1409), October days 2" the oldest known writing in Romanian medieval art.
Pictura Murala din Transylvania by Vasile Dragut, 1970

The church has been rebuilt in the years 1408-1409 by prince Cândreş and his wife Nistoria. The painting was done by master Teofil. The votive painting shows the family of the founders, in center prince Cândreş and his wife hold a model of the church, on their sides boyar Laţco, Cândreş's brother and Vlaicu his son. An altering of the original architecture, the adding of the west tower and the replication of the church's interior took place during the same century. In the XVIII century another entrance has been added. In present all that remains of the interior is the votive painting of the Cândreş family.

Between 1976 and 1980 intense research has been conducted on the site and it has been declared a historic monument. Also during these years it has been decided the church should be kept in it's original form.

text source:
translation by Unnu


 Gurasada (1250) by Ion MOTZOI-CHICIDEANU

text at:




Gurasada church, Hunedoara county, Romania by Vlahia.


The commune of Gurasada, Romania, is located on the middle course of the Mureş River, in north-west part of Hunedoara County, at a distance of 28 km from Deva, the capital of its county. This region is situated at the junction of the Transylvania and Banat historical provinces. Its neighbours are the communes of Zam, Ilia Dobra, Burjuric.





In a little village, Gurasada (Hunedoara County), near of Mures river there is a church with a unique architecture for the Rumanian architecture history. The central part is a building with a four-lobe plane, to which, nowadays, is attached a bell-tower. In a document issued by the Hungarian king Andrew III, from 1292, is mentioned the name of the place, which could be a village, - terra Zad -3, reason for which many scholars thought that the central church is from this time. Today the church is an orthodox one, and the painting from inside the bell-tower and the pronaos is dated in 1765 AD4.
During the archaeological excavations from 1977
5 and 1983-19846 has been pointed of that in Gurasada there are four building phases, to the oldest belonging the central four-lobe church (Fig. 1). Following the Romanic architecture, some time later, in a second phase, another structure with three naves and an external bell-tower over the west entrance has been attached to the central four-lobe together a sacristy erected on the northern wall of the east apse of the first church (Fig. 2, Phase II). The third phase is represented by the same structure with three naves and the sacristy, but this time with a new bell-tower erected over the main nave, the whole structure remaining a Romanic one (Fig. 2, Phase III). The sacristy is the reason for which we think the structure belonged all this time to the catholic cult and, later, had become a parish church, perhaps after the Tartarian invasion in the mid 13th century.



(„Ne-a |ncunostiintat scumpul nostru fiu |ntru Hristos... slavitul rege al Ungariei, ca unele biserici ale calugarilor greci, ridicate |n regatul Ungariei, sunt cu totul distruse din cauza ne|ngrijirii episcopilor diocezani si din cauza grecilor |nsisi, care sunt prea scapatati, iar regele ne roaga cu |nchinare si cucernicie sa le adunam pe toate acestea |ntr-o singura episcopie, care sa ne fie numai noua supusa, si nu |n grija altcuiva, sau sa fie numiti acolo abati ori prepoziti latini, prin al caror zel si grija sa se poata schimba |n bine starea acelorasi biserici.” (XLVII... WARADIENSI EPISCOPO ET... ABBATI DE PETIS VESPRIMENSIS DIOECESEOS. Ut inquirant an episcopatus in Ecclesiis quibusdam Graecis regni Ungariae sit instituendus. (Laterani, XVI Kal. Maii.)... Epicopului de Oradea si... abatelui din dioceza X (?), cu gând sa vada daca trebuie facuta o episcopie pentru unele biserici grecesti din regatul Ungariei (de la Lateran, 16 mai), Patrologia Latina, tom 215, coll. 332B-D (trad. Vladimir Agrigoroaei)
Text:: Luiza Zamora
Foto:: Serban Bonciocat


Over that, in the fourth building phase, has been erected the nowaday bell-tower; the naves were overbuild, this time, by a single hall - a pronaos in an orthodox manner -, with a new entrance on the northern side. Likely in this time, the church became an orthodox one, which could be related to the so called "Olacos possit aggregar et aggregatos retinere" and in case with the noble family Akos/Akus, mentioned in the document from the end of the 13th century7, who such a permission to bring some Rumanians in its villages, one of which being Gurasada8. Much later, in the 18th century the church was painted again in a typical manner for the orthodox religion. All the graves discovered are later (16th-18th century after the coins) and disturbed the earlier burials. It was found only a small silver made so-called Schlafenring, but in a secondary position9. Unfortunately we could not find ever inside archaeological features or materials in situ for the absolute chronology of the four buildings because the high level of soil water and works including a drain made all around the church at the beginning of the 20th century, but the fact that the second phase is a Romanic one is a good reason to consider that the four-lobe church is much earlier. In this case the document from the end of the 13th century is also useless for the church10, but good for the first mention of the village as an asset of the family Akos/Akus, perhaps related to the Cuman warlord Akos/Akus already mentioned in Cronicum pictum Vindobonense11 for the end of the 11th century.
In Western and Central Europe as in the Byzantine World in the 11th-12th centuries are well known a lot of churches belonging to the so-called rotunda category. In this much larger category there is a group, designated as Tetrakoncha, the four-lobe, in Czech, Slovakia and Hungary
12. Some of these could be of a byzantine origin as a result of the relationship between Arpadian Hungary and the Byzantine State. In this case the four-lobe church from Gurasada could belong to one small group, altogether with the rotundae from Alba Julia and Geoagiu, again by Mures river, in a more large frame concerning the relations between the first Hungarians warlords from Transylvania and the emperors from Constantinople with a likely function, first of all as baptistery and then as court/parish-church. The second and the third phases could belong to the time when Transylvania became part of the Hungarian Kingdom13, and Gurasada church, in this frame, acted as a catholic parish-church. It is tempting to assume the destruction of the second phase to the Tartarian invasion, but we have, unfortunately, not yet not proves. After a while the church became an asset of the Rumanian and, such as an orthodox community from Gurasada, as it is proved by the plan of the fourth phase and the paintings (Fig. 2/fourth phase).


* In memoriam Radu Popa.
1 Abstract of a forthcoming paper.
2 I. Chicideanu = I. Motzoi-Chicideanu.
3 See R. Popa, I. Chicideanu, SCIVA 35.1, 1984, 54, n. 2.
4 V. Drãguþ, Buletinul Monumentelor Istorice 41.2, 1972, 63-sqq.
5 R. Popa, I. Chicideanu, SCIVA 35.1, 1984, 54-67.
6 R. Popa and I. Motzoi-Chicideanu, with the sponsorship from Episcopia Arad.
7 G. Popa-Lisseanu (ed.)., Izvoarele istoriei românilor, vol XI, - Cronica pictatã de la Viena, Bucureºti 1937, p. 22, 76, 89.
8 Documente privind istoria României, Seria C, veac XIII, II, p. 389.
9 R. Popa, I. Chicideanu, op.cit., p. 62, fig. 4/a.
10 V. Vãtãºianu, Istoria artei feudale în Tãrile romîne, vol. I. Arta în perioada de dezvoltare a feudalismului, Bucureºti 1959, 95-98, with a wrong sketch on fig. 86.
11 G. Popa-Lisseanu, op. cit., loc. cit.; M. Rusu , Revue roumaine d'historie 21.3-4, 1982, 384..
12 Vera Gervers-Molnár, A középkori magyarország rotundái, Budapest 1972, see also the plan for Gurasada , pl. 39.
13 For the hungarian conquest of the inner Carpathian basin ( = Transsylvania) see K. Horedt, Contribuþii la istoria Transilvaniei în secolele IV-XIII, Biblioteca istoricã VII, Bucureºti 1958, 109-131.

Church of the Assumption, Strei (1280)



From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

 Biserica Adormirea Maicii Domnului din Strei se află în localitatea Strei , în vecinătatea oraşului Călan, judeţul Hunedoara. Church of the Assumption Strei is in town Strei, near the city Calan, Hunedoara. Construită în stilul de trecere de la romanic spre gotic, într-o viziune locală, la cumpăna dintre secolele 13 şi 14, biserica din Strei este unul dintre cele mai vechi şi reprezentative monumente de arhitectură transilvană. Built in the style of transition from Romanesque to Gothic, a local Vision at the turn of 13 and 14 centuries, the church of Strei is one of the oldest and representative monuments of architecture Transylvania. Biserica se află pe noua listă a monumentelor istorice LMI: HD-II-mA-03452. Church is on the new list of historical monuments LMI: HD-II-mA-03452. Placed south of Calan; founded by the Romanian boyard Ambrozie in the 13th c., it combines the Romanesque and rustic Gothic styles; valuable paintings on the walls, on the nave and especially on the altarpiece which exhibits the peasant artist's self-portrait and signature.

Fitxer: Strei HD.vedere pan.jpg 


File: Strei HD.NV.jpg

   Romanesque church in Strei  STREI CHURCH by FOREVER CARDON.

Roman stone used at the Strei church foundation

The tiny Romanesque church of Strei is so old, that one of the windows' pillars got as thin as a stick! Besides that, the church hides magnificent frescoes and Roman statues within its stone walls. There's so much interesting about this small, strange-looking church, one could write a book on it.


File: Strei HD.nava. E.jpg 

 3DroPictures and text

 The first documentary mention dates from 1392. Pe locul monumentului medieval au fost descoperite vestigiile unei villa rustica romana. Medieval monument in the place were found the remains of a Roman villa rustica.

Monumentele medievale, de altfel coboara pana in sec. Medieval monuments, otherwise descend until dry. XIII, cand avem atestata o curte cneziala si biserica de curte cu hramul Adormirea Maicii Domnului. XIII, when we mentioned a Cneziale yard and courtyard with church patron Assumption. Cladita din piatra la sfarsitul sec. Built of stone at the end of sec. XIII, prezinta un turn clopotnita pa fata de vest, o nava scurta cu plafon de scanduri si un altar dreptunghiular boltit in cruce pe nervuri. XIII has a bell tower to the west pa, a ship short of the ceiling boards and a vaulted rectangular altar cross the ribs. Church of Sângiorzul Streiului, Cândeştilor founded in 1403. Fresce reprezentând pe ctitori în costume de cavaleri. Frescoes representing the founders of knights in suits. Inscripţii slavo-romane. Slavo-Roman Inscriptions.

Strei church paintings


Among the oldest monuments is Romanian church in the village cemetery. Small crude stone built, has a bell tower on the west façade, and a rectangular altar, arched cross the ogives massive stone. Once painted and the outside, it retains a valuable set of murals on the inside made by master Groza.


 Synthesis of influence Byzantine and North Italian (style Gothic early), recovered in a local architectural, church Orthodox the River dates from the second half of the century. XIV (other sources about 1270)[1]. The altar Jesus in glory "and the procession of the apostles, the ship of the Annunciation, St. Nicholas and the Saints.

Biserica din Strei, unul din cele mai vechi monumente de arhitectură românească din Transilvania, datînd din secolul XIII, poate fi vizitată în comuna Strei, la cîţiva kilometri înainte de a ajunge la Călan. Monumentul, situat pe terasa înaltă a rîului Strei, este vizibil de la intrarea în localitate. O tablă indicatoare ne arată strada laterală pe care se ajunge la biserică, după 400m. Turnul şi acoperişul sînt construite din piatră în stil roman, în mod asemănător bisericii din Densuş. La construcţie au fost utilizate fragmente din sculpturi şi pietre cu inscripţii romane, provenite de la Sarmizegetusa. În interior se păstrează picturi din secolul XV. Urme de pictură au fost observate şi în exterior.
De mici dimensiuni, construită din piatră brută, prezintă un turn-clopotniţă pe faţada vestică, o navă scurtă cu boltă de scânduri şi un altar dreptunghiular, boltit în cruce pe ogive masive de piatră. Odinioară pictata şi la exterior, ea păstrează un valoros ansamblu de picturi murale la interior executate de maestrul Grozie.
Sinteză de influenţe bizantine şi nord-italiene (stil gotic timpuriu), valorificate într-o manieră arhitectonică locală, biserica ortodoxă din Strei datează din a doua jumătate a sec. al XIV-lea (după unele surse circa 1270). In altar "Isus in glorie" şi cortegiul apostolilor, în navă "Buna Vestire", Sf. Nicolae şi sfinţi.
Biserica de la Strei a fost construită dintr-un turn cu clopotniţă, care a încorporat în exterior un fragment de sarcofag roman dintr-o navă scurtă cu plafon cu scânduri şi dintr-un altar patrulater, distribuite de-a lungul axei vest – est. Turnul clopotniţei, având trei etaje, este impresionant prin vigoarea zidăriei cu patină aurie, prin decoraţia de nobilă sobrietate. Clădirea bisericii este datată de la sfârşitul secolului al XIII – lea, începutul secolului al XIV – lea.
 Picturile bisericii reprezintă unul din cele mai vechi şi preţioase ansambluri de pictură medievală menită să împodobească un monument românesc. Aceste picturi sunt expresia acelei epoci în care cnejii români din Transilvania mai erau obligaţi să facă apel la maeştri străini pentru satisfacerea nevoilor artistice. Pictura interioară a fost realizată în secolul al XIV – lea de meşterul Grozie. Iniţial, a fost pictată şi în exterior, însă această pictură nu se mai păstrează. Arhitectura bisericii ilustrează adaptarea stilului romano – gotic din Transilvania la tradiţiile locale ale construcţiilor din lemn.

sursa ghid Muntii Poiana Rusca &
Wikipedia article:

SÂNTÃMÃRIE ORLEA is a village south of the town of Hateg. The church here is a beautiful monument built in the 13th century where the catholic and orthodox denominations have coexisted in a surprising synthesis. Built in the 13th c. by the Romanian princely family of Candea in the village of Rau de Mori; it illustrates the transition from the Romanesque to the Gothic style; the paintings of the walls and of the nave combine the Byzantine and the Renaissance styles and are the oldest ones to be found in an Orthodox church in Romania (1300-1330).

 inner fresco in the Romanesque church of Santamarie-Orlea            Santamaria Orlea church

The frescoes inside the church, painted in 1311, are some of the most beautiful in Southern Transylvania. In the 15th century frescoes of Eastern origin were added to the altar.  

The church is now one of the few protestant churches of Hateg Land. The castle in the village is a noble estate built by the Kendeffy family in the 17th century. The castle has been restored and turned into a motel.


 Historical Monuments in  Hateg Zone. Project Geopark

We must make clear that in capitalizing on cultural tourism in the zone,one must start from the Râu de Mori commune.

All that is around it only completes,enhances and highlights the evolution,destiny ,decorations and specific functional character of the monuments in that locality.Apart from them,cultural tourism,whose target and content is the Hateg Land is already consolidated by Romanian schooling of all types.
The first building of historic interest which the end-users must focus on is the very Kendeffy mansion in Râu de Mori.According to our historical information,it was first built of stone in the second half of the l5th century.At that time,that was the foremost family of gentry about those places,standing out through their fortune and social ambitions.As from the l6th century,they were known only as the Kendeffys.The building in the South-Western corner of the complex served as the Calvinist chapel of the family and their servants.The names of certain pastors are linked to it,who attempted to translate holy texts into Romanian,but with Hungarian spelling.
On the South-Eastern side,not too far away,there is the vicarage in Râu de Mori.Mentioned in documents in 1526,it has undergone several changes,thus losing its initial look.

Close to its entrance,on the left hand side,flat on the ground,there is one of the most interesting tombstones in Hateg,with inscriptions on reused Roman marble,going back to 1505 and brought there from Colti Monastery. Two kilometres away,Southwards,two remarkable monuments stand face to face in Suseni.

  Coltului Monastery,raised sometime between the late l4th century and the early l5th century lies very close to the river and the highway.

 The church stands out through two particular elements:first,through the location of the tower over the altar and second through the remains of the inside frescoes.
Across the stream,on a height watching over the entire lower course of the Râusor,there is the Coltului Fortress. After half an hour's walk,the visitor comes upon the best preserved medieval fortress in the Hateg Land and moreover,one of the best preserved noble fortresses in Transylvania.Around a tower with a square foundation,erected in the l4th century,precincts,rooms and towers were built until the l6th century.There is no other more valuable visiting card of that fortress than the one signed by Jules Verne,the novelist who immortalized it in his novel The Castle in the Carpathians.The legends related to the fortress entered the fairy-tale world too.


The Colt Fortress, situated on a rock at the entrance in the Narrow Gorge of Rausor, is documentary attested since the XIVth Century. It belonged to the Royal Family Candea, from Rau de Mori. Raised for protection, the fortress didn’t assumed ever this part. The Fortress Colt seems more a place of a romantic refugee. Under the walls of the fortress never took place a fight. With all that, after 600 years from it’s rise, the fortress was the dumb witness of a real fight against destiny, fight which would made it more known than all the it’s history since then. Here took place one of the most tender and secret loce stories, who’s hero was Jules Verne himself.
The disappointments of a successful man
The life of the novelist Jules Verne wasn’t always full of success. After a few years with failures and material shortcomings , one day, the star of success shined also above the young Jules Verne. The occasionally meeting with Dumas-the father had to open to the French writer the road to a literary career fool of satisfactions.
His life seems pretty well to the one of his novel heroes. He was may times kneeled by material shortcomings, treated with mistrust, but when he managed to impose himself as a novelist, the world was at his feet. Jules Verne was considered a very attracting man. If we add to this his success, we can belive the describe made to the writer by Georges Bastard in 1883: “… Jules Verne… he received avalanche of letters, loving letters and perfumed notes. I really know beautiful women, onsets, it can be understood, who, now family mothers, burned in the past by the desire to write to him, directly, with naivete, to ask his photo. Young, he passed as a beautiful man.”   
 Castelul din Carpati editia Hetzel. Este vizibila asemanarea izbitoare intre desenul de acum peste 100 de ani si imaginea de astazi a cetatii Colt. 
      However generous would be the faith to him, how much was his success to the women, his sentimental failures followed him all his life. Beside his wife Honorine , all the women Jules Verne loved finished the love story marrying somebody else. Beyond the deceptions he had to live, Jules Verne remained the same incurable lover, sensible to the beauty and the gentleness of the women in his life. With all those, neither the attraction for beautiful women, neither even his romantic love stories couldn’t determined him to give a bigger part for women in his novels. In 1895 he declared to a British journalist that: “the love is an absorbant passion which doesn’t leave anything but a little place for other things in the man’s heart. My heroes need all their faculties, all their energy, and the presence of a young and charming woman with them would troubled them to manage their giant projects.” A woman crossed over this concept, managing to insinuate herself in the writer’s work without anyone knew her true identity for sure. Only one time Jules Verne abandoned his concepts, and that would had cost him very much.
The literary critic Marcel More ended to the conclusion that three women marked the life of the novelist. The first was his cousin Caroline, then Honorine with whom he married and the third…an enigmatic woman about who no one dared to refere exactly, but who left final marks in the novelist’s life.
Forgotten Histories
Jules Verne left behind him a fabulous work. He wrote 90 novels. About the French novelist didn’t delayed to appear speculations, some caused by the desire of sensational, other mean spirited. The rumors went in a time so far that it was given the presumption that Jules Verne would never lived France and his novels are the fruits of a closer documentation from other works and of an anticipation power never seen before. Others affirmed that the prolific author is actually a group of authors which manage to write so many novels. Even after his death there were presumptions that his posthumonous work could be wrote after by the ones who profit of his celebrity. The enigmas which are traveling around the “Castle from Carpati” are more numerous than all the others born around the novels written by Jules Verne.
The author confess that he imagines an action of the novel while he studies geographical works, documents, historical testimonies, after his imagination was fueled enough with the needed information for building a story. But this time, the story was born after other story in which the author himself was involved. His biographers, in part relatives of the writer, never dared to raise the wave of mystery which surrounds “The castle from Carpati”.
As it is mentioned even by the author in the preface of the book, about Transylvania wrote as much the French geographer Elisee Reclus, as August de Gerando, works he certainly read. There existed and there still exist contrare opinions about the visit made by the French novelist in Transylvania. A lot of people still sustain he never leaved France. Although …
Her name was Louise
Jules Verne owned some boats in which he traveled on the North Sea and on the Meditherane Sea. There was a period between 1882 and 1886 when the writer didn’t used the boat and neither one biographer totally discovered where he traveled in this time. Exactly in the mentioned time someone was coming back in the birth village from Transylvania, at Homorod (near Brasov). She was a woman about that few things were known. Her life had some spectaculary changes in 1862, when at the age of 17 she decided to run away from the village, leaving the wedding preparations her parents had started. Her name was Luiza. Luiza Teutch, a teenager who at 17 years old went into the wide world and runs away from home a day before her wedding, was only at the beginning of an existence whicha had to made her famous.



Also in the Râu de Mori commune,in the Ostrov village,you can see one of the newly restored churches of Hateg.Its steeple has preserved its initial l5th century shape and beneath it,in the tympanon of the entrance to the nave,there is the most remarkable testimony of frescoes in the same perimeter.



   Ostrov also stands out through its original cemetery fence.Originally,it was made up of nearly 300 Roman stones of all types,arranged in a genuine unique protoexhibit.
About l5 km Westwards,in Sarmizegetusa,a large number of vestiges in the capital of Roman Dacia were unearthed.Owing to the over one century-old endeavour of the archaeologists,you can visit the amphitheatre,the sacred zone with the temples of deities from the second pantheon,part of the governors'public buildings and finally,the Forum(the public square),on the archaeological site where work goes on every summer.The results of the older or newer research are all put on show in the only museum in the Hateg Land,in Sarmizegetusa.
Only 7 km Westwards,on the highway to Caransebes,between Zeicani and Bucova,visitors can be taken to the fortification system of Transylvania's Iron Gates.The ancient locality of Tapae stood there,the site of two of the famous battles between the Dacians and the Romans.The old walls were rebuilt in the Middle Ages.The customs stood there, from ancient times until the beginning of the contemporary period and for a while,the state border with the lands occupied by the Turks in Banat.





From Râu de Mori,in a nearly oblique direction,North-Westwards,passing through Ostrov,you can first reach Pesteana. 

Worth visiting in the village is one of the Romanian churches preserving architectonic elements from successive restoration works,starting out from one of the oldest religious edifices in Hateg.

 the church, which dates back to the 13th century. The church is tiny, probably an old princely chapel, with white sinous walls like plasticine. It is still used by two families in the village, old Romanian families who were Magyarized during the centuries just like the prince Cande/Kendeffy. 

DENSUS Saint Nicholas Church

Densus is only two kilometres away.Its name will always be linked to one of the Romanian churches turned into a myth.Hardly when you are in front of it do all the stories seem true:a surprising architectonic plane,minutely achieved,with an extravagant ingeniousness and fantasy,which could only have been displayed by a widely travelled and experienced,but extremely spontaneous craftsman.Densus must have been built in the 13th century,probably growing into a small family monastery in the l5th century.The church is one of those monuments about which you can always discover something new and wonderful.





 About the church of Densuş
The church was built in the 13th century AD. It is dedicated to Saint Nicholas. In the same period were built in Transylvania some other Orthodox stone churches: at Gurasada (~1250), Strei (~1280), Sîntămăria Orlea.


 Trinity from Densus

Saint Cosmas by Master Stefan, 1443

The Densuş church has a belfry with stone roof. On the roof, approximately above the altar, there are two stone lions. A great part of the construction material used at the building of the church was taken from the ruins of the Roman city of Ulpia Trajana, that lies nearby Densuş.

 To the church building architraves, doorsills, votive altars, columns and capitals were used. The church foundations belonged to a much older building, a Roman villa rustica, a temple dedicated to the god of war Mars or maybe the mausoleum of the Roman general Longinus.
In 1443 the Orthodox church of Densuş, founded by the Romanian princes (cneji) from the Mănjina family, was painted by Ştefan, the first Romanian mural painter known to Romanian history. The icon "Holy Trinity of Densuş" shows Jesus as a child, dressed with an "ie" (an embroided Romanian blouse) with traditional motifs from Ţara Haţegului (Country of Haţeg). Unfortunately, on the coin appears only the head of Jesus. The Father appears like an old man with long beard and the Holy Spirit as a pidgeon.
"It seems that a local craftsman improvised here, with models borrowed from the Romanic arhitecture and with material that came from dismantling ancient buildings, a Byzantine
church of a type that he knew only from hearsay, thus realizing a rustic synthesis, but suggestive, of the artistic currents that crossed the Transylvanian land." The quotation is from the volume "Istoria artelor plastice în România" - History of the Plastic Arts in Romania, 1968 - written by a group of authors. The quoted fragment belongs to Virgil Vătăşianu.
About the Roman general Longinus, the friend of emperor Trajan
File:Densus church 09.JPG
Cneius (or Gnaeus) Pompeius Longinus commanded the Roman garrisons from Dacia after the first Roman-Dacian war from 101-102 AD. He was consul in 90 AD. Captured by king Decebalus in 105 AD, he commited suicide. In exchange for freeing Longinus, Decebalus requested some war compensations and the withdrawal of the Roman army from Dacia.
File:Densus.bis piatra.nava si turn.jpg
 Altar and Iconostasis
  A well spread hypothesis says that one of the Roman tombstones used at the construction of the church of Densuş belonged to general Longinus. The funeral inscription is: D M / G·LONGIN / MAXIMO / VIX AN LVIII /IVLIA·AFRO / DISIA CONI / B M P (the inscription in partially visible on the coin).
D M means D(iis) M(anibus), and is an invocation to the Manes gods. G Longin Maximo is the name of the deceased, probably at dative case. VIX(it) AN(nis) LVIII shows that Gaius Longinus Maximus lived 58 years. The last two rows show that Julia Afrodisia, the wife of the deceased- CONI(vgi) - put this tombstone. B M P stands for Bene Merenti Posuit.
So, the funeral inscription can be read as: for the Manes gods, for Gaius Longinus Maximus, who lived years 58, Julia Afrodisia wife (because he) well deserved put (this tombstone).

Going in the same direction,passing through the Ciula Mica and Mare villages,after about 10 km,you reach the Rachitova commune.


 Hateg Towers and Citadels



If the dacian citadels in Hunedoara county are well-known by the history and hiking lovers, the same thing cannot be said for the medieval towers and citadels in the Hateg Country, built by brave Romanian cneji, profoundly attached to the ancient lands they have ennobled with their blood, thing that can be seen on the walls of their endowments in Densuş, Strei, Sângeorgiu, Râul de Mori, Râul Barbat, Râchitova and many more. 

The special natural conditions determined the life of the daco-roman population and then Romanian population take place uninterrupted. This fact is also confirmed by an old document from 1247, which reminds of a “Romanian land, known as Terra Harszoc (Hateg Country), older than it’s first documentary attestation. Once the population grew and new settlements appeared, towers and citadels were needed to make possible the existence of the numerous obşti sâteşti, as the Hateg Country occupied a strategic place in the road network connecting Transylvania and Tara Romaneasca. So the Hateg citadel, Colţ citadel, the Rachitova guard towers, the citadels of Crivadia, Mălăeşti and Sălaşul de Sus were built.



The Hateg Citadel is located 4 km SE of the city of Hateg, in the village of Subcetate perimeter. The archeologists found dacic remains and remains of the Coţofeni culture also. It’s not excluded that Petru, comite of Hateg and great royal comite in 1276, had something to do with the citadel. In 1317, the donjon, the moat and the dirt defense wave. Destroyed in 1420, it was rebuilt in 1430. In 1536, the citadel loses it’s value, falling slowly into ruin.

The Colt citadel – located near the village of Suseni, at the bottom of the Retezat mountains, on Raul Mic, was a fortified feudal castle, property of the Romanian cneji family Cândea. The citadel-castle contains a storied tower with 2 m thick walls (the donjon), in it’s front two more polygonal towers, connected with the moat and access bridge. It was the most powerful citadel in the Hateg Country. It’s construction started in the XIVth century, but it was still used in 1684.

    Rachitova citadel


The tower of Răchitova – In Răchitova, famous commune, situated in the NV corner of the Hateg depression, an inhabited-tower, built in the XIVth  century and used until the XVIth century by the local cneaz family Muşina. Tower is in donjon style, made of stone, with a 2,60 m thick wall, square shaped, with 3-4 levels, surrounded by a dirt defense wave. 

The tower of Crivadia – situated near the Crivadia village, built on a limestone spur, with 20 m high walls, it has a round shape.The tower entrance is in the northern side, 2 m of the ground level. The internal diameter is 13 m, the fortress’ defense was assured by 7 battlements situated 1-1.5 m apart. Inside, in the upper section of the tower, there is a battle platform. Seem that the tower was built to guard the old road on the Strei and Mures artery, over Dealul Babei through Vulcan pass to Tara Romaneasca (Romania Country). It was built in 1528 by the voievod of Transylvania, Petru Pereny.




In Salasul de Sus, north of the village, there are the ruins of a feudal construction with 4 bastions and a drawbridge, also of a church. The Candres family began the construction in the XIVth century. The castle occupies a 95 x 55 m area, having a rectangular shape, with 1.20 m thick walls, 3 m high, with several towers. 

In Malaesti the ruins of a “castle” built by the Saracinesti family can be found. Today only the 12 m high donjon with 1.8 meters thick walls remains. The building had at least 4 levels, surrounded by a 4-8 m high wall, 1.2m thick.

Salasul de Sus tower-citadel




On the left hand side of the highway and of the rivulet of the same name,there lies the ruin of the fortress stronghold there.It was erected according to a design similar to the one of Colti,but by another noble family,the Musinesti family.



 is situated about half-way between Râu de Mori and Sântamarie Orlea.The Romanian church there,which goes back to the l4-15th centuries,has two noteworthy portals.Its Western façade looks like a small exhibit of reused Roman pieces from a Roman castrum on Sanpetru hill, outpost of the legio XII Gemina


















































Sântamarie Orlea is a commune lying at the junction of the highway coming from Râu de Mori and the Hateg-Petrosani highway,only three kilometres far from the main town of the land(Hateg).Two historical edifices can be admired there.The oldest is the parish church,built in the late 13th century.Its interior was painted around 1311,displaying some of the most beautiful frescoes in Southern Transylvania.In the 15th century,more frescoes of a clear Eastern origin were added to its altar.This interior mix makes the church in Sântamarie one of the most original medieval monuments in the whole of Transylvania,where the Catholic and the Orthodox denominations have coexisted in a surprising synthesis.What is important is still the fact that in 1447,the locality was donated to the Cândea family in Râu de Mori,whose property it was up to the modern epoch.At the moment,the church is one of the very few Protestant churches in the Hateg Land.

The same family that became the Kendeffy family raised the stateliest noble mansion in the Hateg Land,probably on the site of an older residence in Sântamarie Orlea.It is a complex of buildings,a massive nobiliary residence,with a tower raised West of its Northern façade and with two other outhouses(the stables and the servants'house),lying Northwards,U-shaped.In the l8th century,a superb Latin inscription was laid above the entrance,testifying to the couple's love and featuring the coats of arms of the families who owned the building at the time.King Carol II of Romania,who came to hunt in the Hateg Land was one of the personalities put up in the mansion.

Subcetate lies three km North-East of the highway between Sântamarie Orlea and the town of Hateg.Close to the entrance to the locality,on a height at a 100 m difference of level,you can still see the ruins of the most important medieval fortress in Hateg.It was built in the late 13th century.Starting with the 15th century,it was the property of the same Cândea family of Râu de Mori,by the special grace of Prince Ioan of Hunedoara.Any role the fortress may have had was already lost in the first half of the 16th century.

Salasu de Sus can be reached if by the locality of Ohaba de Sub Piatra on the Hateg-Petrosani highway,you head Southwards,along the classical route to the Retezat Mountains.Four km away.immediately after the entrance to the commune,the traveller can see the ruins of a noble court.The interior walls parallel with the highway and the spire of a chapel are still left.The latter is very similar to the chapel in Râu de Mori.It belonged to the Mara family of Romanian extraction.Another local Romanian family,the Saracin family raised the church on the left hand side of the highway too,beyond the main square of the commune.The steeple of the old church is left,whose inscription above the entrance tells a brief story of the building.

Malaiesti lies another three kilometres away,on the same highway as Salasu de Sus.Leaving the asphalted road and turning left,you cross the village and get to the Malaiesti fotress.Easy to reach,it has, besides its own charm enhanced by the environment,the charm of the small fortresses built by the feudal noblemen all over Europe.Erected by the Saracin family,standing close to and socially competing with Cândestii in Râu de Mori,it still preserves elements which are worth visiting.The central house-tower is fully preserved.You can still see part of the defense wall around it,to which in the 16th century,four irregular-shaped outside towers were added,now visible only a little above the soil.
Nucsoara,neighbouring Malaiesti South-Westwards,only four kilometres away, is a village that belonged to the Cândesti estate in Râu de Mori.That modest village managed however to raise a notable parish church,preserved much better than many others.This church was painted by master mason Simion of Pitesti,Wallachia,in the last quarter of the 18th century.All the frescoes have been preserved.
Baru is situated on the DN 66 highway,25 km from Hateg,about half-way to the town of Petrosani.Having certain urban characteristics,Baru is worth visiting for one of its churches too.The Pârvestilor Church is an unusual mix of baffling elements,which actually conceal an 18th century monument.The church is still said to have been built by a family of"thieves",to thank God for having saved them.
Crivadia,four kilometres away,on the same highway to Petrosani preserves an unusual construction,that is the fortification or "the tower"as it is sometimes called incorrectly.Its circular shape,with a big diameter actually suggests a tower.It was built in the 16th century by the ruling princes of Transylvania with a view to protecting the pass and the border check point with Wallachia.It watches over both sides of the watershed.It is very similar to other such constructions defending the Turnul Rosu pass to Sibiu.

Banita lies near Petrosani,close to the watershed.The landscape mutilated by the mines cannot be recognized but through the impressive hill on which a Dacian fortress stands further used in the Middle Ages.To visit the fortress is quite a venture,due to the winding and difficult paths leading to it.


RâMET Monastery

Lying against a picturesque background, in the valley of the Geoagiu river in the Trascau Mountains, near Teius; built in the 14th c., the monastery belonged to the estates owned in turn by Hungarian King Mathias Corvinus and Radu the Great, ruling prince of Wallachia (1496-1508); the latter received them as a reward for military services from the Hungarian king Ladislas II; beneath the altar, 1.6 m deep into the ground, there is a fresh water spring suitable for drinking, whence the name of the monastery's wake, i.e. the Healing Spring; valuable murals (9 coats of painting), which were washed out in the 1980's; the church's foundation has been raised above ground-level by 2.08 m in order to save it from caving in; at present, a nunnery.



 Geoagiu, com. Geoagiu, jud. Hunedoara





Geoagiu: Rotonda_Geoagiu.jpeg

 Djurdjev - Serbia lui Dusan langa Ohrida Djurdjevi_stupovi_016.jpg( 583.72K ) Amandoua dateaza din aceeasi periaoda de timp, dinaintea invaziei mongole. Prima este din Croatia, a doua este de la Geoagiu

Punct: Biserica de tip "rotondă"

Cod sit: 89570.04

Colectiv: Gheorghe Petrov (MNIT), Paul Scrobotă (MI Aiud)

Începute în anul 1993, cercetările arheologice de la biserica cu plan central (rotonda) din Geoagiu (fost sat Geoagiu de Jos), au continuat şi în anul 2000 cu a VIII-a campanie de săpături. Deşi au fost atâtea campanii, totuşi, considerăm că la acest important monument de arhitectură medievală nu s-a săpat îndeajuns, pentru a lămuri tot ceea ce ne interesează, deoarece în fiecare an fondurile alocate au fost modeste, ca să nu spunem simbolice.

Biserica este alcătuită dintr-o navă circulară cu diametrul interior de 5,5 m, continuată spre răsărit cu o absidă semicirculară lungă de 2 m şi care are o deschidere înspre navă de 3 m. Lungimea construcţiei pe axa E - V este de 7 m în interior şi de 9 m în exterior. Materialul de construcţie folosit la ridicarea rotondei a fost cărămida romană în asociaţie cu o cantitate mai redusă de piatră de râu, prezentă mai mult în părţile superioare ale elevaţiilor. Intrarea în rotondă se face prin partea de SV, printr-un portal introdus în zidărie într-o fază mai târzie; portalul este format din doi uşciori de piatră cu muchiile exterioare teşite, ambii fiind prevăzuţi la părţile superioare cu câte un capitel cubic. Deasupra, două rânduri de cărămidă medievală ieşite puţin în afară în raport cu paramentul, formează un arc uşor frânt. Un alt arc, de formă semicirculară, realizat din cărămidă romană şi aflat mai sus decât arcul portalului actual, trebuie să fi fost cel iniţial. Rotonda este prevăzută cu un număr de şase ferestre: una în partea estică a absidei şi restul în navă, câte două pe părţile de N şi de S, iar ultima la V; în afară de fereastra vestică care este rotundă, toate celelalte sunt dreptunghiulare cu închideri semicirculare la partea superioară. Aceste ferestre aparţin prin formă şi stil epocii romanice, fiind tratate în ambrazură, strâmtate la mijloc, cu evazări largi spre exterior şi interior. Ferestrele navei sunt amplasate în partea superioară a elevaţiilor, iar cea de la absidă se află mai jos, deoarece absida fusese boltită în vechime, cu o semicalotă din piatră şi cărămidă, din care astăzi se mai păstrează doar punctele de plecare ale acesteia.

În literatura de specialitate există puţine referiri la acest unic monument de cult din Ardeal. Edificiul este singura rotondă din ţară care se mai află în picioare şi poate fi văzută. În jurul bisericii există un cimitir, în care primele înmormântări au început să se facă în secolul al XI-lea, în vremea regelui Ladislau I (1077 - 1095), iar ultimele în cursul secolului al XVIII-lea. Cercetarea cimitirului a fost şi este posibilă, astăzi, doar în perimetrul actual al curţii casei parohiale reformate, pe terenul delimitat strict de împrejmuirea acesteia. În cele opt campanii de săpături, între anii 1993 - 2000, au fost descoperite şi cercetate un număr de 157 morminte, depistate într-un număr de 17 şanţuri arheologice (Supr. I, S. 1 - S. 16).

În campania din anul 2000 au fost practicate trei secţiuni, după cum urmează: S. 13 = 3,5 x 2 m, la SE de rotondă, în cimitir, cu laturile mai lungi dispuse pe relaţia V - E (între latura vestică a lui S. 13 şi latura estică a lui S. 4 / 1995 - secţiune practicată direct pe zidurile rotondei, în partea sudică, la îmbinarea navei cu absida - există o distanţă de 3 m); S. 14 = 4,15 (latura estică) x 3,9 (latura vestică) x 2 m, pe latura nordică a navei, pornind direct de pe zidurile acesteia (S. 14 s-a aflat practicată între două secţiuni mai vechi, ambele pornite tot de pe zidurile rotondei - S. 5 / 1996 la E şi S. 11 / 1999 la V - acestea fiind despărţite de noua secţiune prin martori de 0,5 m); S. 15 = 3 x 1,5 m, în cimitir, la N de S. 12 / 1999 cu martor de 0,5 m între ele (S. 15, cu laturile mai lungi pe relaţia V - E, se află la o distanţă de circa 11 m faţă de absida rotondei).

În aceste secţiuni au fost descoperite un număr de 20 morminte (M. 138 - M. 157): 11 în S. 13 (M. 138 - M. 148), unul în S. 15 (M. 149) şi opt în S. 14 (M. 150 - M. 157). Din cele 20 de morminte depistate au fost cercetate doar 17, deoarece la trei dintre ele (M. 140, M. 144, M. 148 / S. 13) au fost surprinse doar capetele sau marginile gropilor de înmormântare care ieşeau din profile pe suprafeţe mici, ceea ce nu a mai permis adâncirea pe gropi până la aflarea scheletelor. În S. 14 au mai fost descoperite, în plus, părţile superioare din scheletele a doi defuncţi (M. 72, M. 76) surprinşi în S. 5 / 1996; totodată a fost marcată şi groapa lui M. 80, care vine tot din S. 5, neputând însă ajunge la schelet din aceleaşi cauze amintite mai sus. Toate mormintele descoperite în campania din anul 2000 au fost lipsite de inventar funerar.

La mormintele din cimitirul aflat în jurul rotondei deosebim două orizonturi de înmormântare: unul mai vechi, de epocă arpadiană - datat cu monede din vremea regilor Ungariei Ladislau I (1077 - 1095) şi Coloman (1095 - 1114) - cu defuncţii îngropaţi fără sicrie, în gropi cu adâncimi relativ mici; altul mai nou, cu înmormântările începând probabil din secolul al XIII-lea şi continuate în secolele următoare, cu defuncţii depuşi în sicrie şi în gropi mai adânci (pentru amănunte şi detalii, vezi rezumatele din Cronicile sesiunilor de rapoarte anterioare, precum şi articolul nostru publicat în AMN, 33 / I, 1996, p. 403 - 414).

În privinţa cronologiei începuturilor rotondei, ne menţinem în continuare părerea că aceasta a fost ridicată, cel mai devreme, probabil pe la începutul secolului al XII-lea. Clarificări şi concluzii mai precise, lipsite de unele din incertitudinile actuale, vor fi posibile numai după finalizarea cercetărilor arheologice; investigaţiile vor fi continuate în interiorul rotondei, apoi în exterior, lângă ziduri, precum şi la diferite distanţe faţă de monument, în cimitir.


Cea mai veche biserică de piatră din România


Ciprian Iancu
Joi, 05 Iunie 2008
Biserica rotondă de la Geoagiu nu este inclusă în niciun circuit turistic în ciuda valorii ei inestimabile.

Cea mai veche biserică de piatră din România nu este nici cea de la Densuş, nici cea de la Streisângeorgiu, ci Biserica rotondă din Geoagiu, din judeţul Hunedoara. Lăcaşul de cult a fost ridicat la finele secolului al XI-lea, însă indiferenţa autorităţilor şi încăpăţânarea clericilor încurajează însă „discreţia“ în care este învăluit edificiul.

Dacă lăcaşele de cult de la Densuş şi Strei sunt incluse în aşa-zise circuite turistice, cel de la Geoagiu pare a fi păstrat doar pentru „cunoscătorii adevăraţi“.

Fără indicatoare turistice sau ghid

Dacă afli despre Biserica rotondă de la Geoagiu şi vrei să o vizitezi, se prea poate să o cauţi o jumătate de ceas prin oraşul-sat pentru că indicatoarele care să îndrume turiştii lipsesc cu desăvârşire. Odată ajuns la poarta „Bisericii ungureşti“, aşa cum numesc localnicii ansamblul compus din vechea biserică, o clădire parohială şi o altă biserică în stil gotic, mai tânără decât biserica „circulară“, ai toate şansele să nu găseşti pe nimeni care să-ţi explice ceva. Nu-ţi rămâne decât să păşeşti timid, să te plimbi puţin prin curtea bine îngrijită, să te uiţi uimit mai ales la cele două lăcaşe de cult, însoţit de vreo doi câini mari, dar blânzi şi jucăuşi.

Biserica pe stil gotic este ordonată, iar prin fereastra ei poţi zări mobilier vechi încă funcţional. În biserica rotondă poţi „intra“ la fel, doar trăgând cu ochiul pe o ferestruică îngustă. Nu prea ai ce să vezi decât nişte podele noi şi câteva scaune pliate pe perete. După cel mult o jumătate de oră în care te simţi ca un impostor, pleci impresionat şi intrigat, dacă nu chiar supărat că, de la faţa locului, n-ai avut cum să afli mai multe informaţii despre biserica pe care ai văzut-o.

Biserica familiei nobiliare Akos

Potrivit cercetărilor demarate în 1993 de profesorul Gheorghe Petrov, de la Muzeul Naţional de Istorie a Transilvaniei, din Cluj-Napoca, biserica tip rotondă este unică în arhitectura religioasă transilvană. De altfel, este singurul edificiu de acest tip care s-a păstrat de-a lungul timpului într-o formă foarte asemănătoare de cea originală, cu doar câteva modificări minore.

Săpăturile efectuate au scos la iveală morminte vechi de aproape un mileniu. Se pare că în interiorul bisericii erau înmormântaţi în general copiii, iar adulţii - în imediata vecinătate, până acum fiind descoperite 172 de morminte. Din primele date arheologice, originea lăcaşului de cult este plasată la finele secolului al Xl-lea, „rotonda“ de la Geoagiu aparţinând familiei nobiliare Akos, care stăpânea zona Geoagiu la acea vreme.

Toată lumea ridică din umeri

Laszlo Beke, administratorul taberei care funcţionează în „Biserica ungurească“, susţine că nu el este cel în măsură să ofere date despre vechiul lăcaş de cult, dar că „poarta este deschisă pentru oricine“.

Se pare că doar pastorul Bisericii Reformate din Orăştie, Sipos Szabalcs, ar putea spune de ce biserica nu se află în circuitul turistic. „De ce nu sunt grupuri de turişti? Asta cred că v-ar putea spune superiorii mei de la Cluj. Nu se poate spune că e izolată, pentru că acolo vin în tabără, vara, tineri din ţară şi din străinătate (tabere organizate de Asociaţ ia Tinerilor Creştini Reformaţi din Transilvania, cu sediul la Cluj-Napoca)“, spune Sipos Szabalcs. Şi autorităţile locale consideră că lăcaşul de cult este destul de „vizibil“ pe
harta turistică.

Sindromul izolării

Pe de altă parte, istoricul Mihai Căstăian spune că e vorba de un sindrom ciudat al izolării, care se regăseşte şi în cazul celor două biserici fortificate din Orăştie, ambele închise pentru publicul larg. „Avem şi aici de-a face cu aceeaşi mentalitate de popor asediat de la Orăştie, unde saşii şi maghiarii şi-au fortificat bisericile şi s-au refugiat în ele secole la rând din calea invaziilor turceşti. Mă frapează faptul că cel mai vechi lăcaş de cult din piatră, rămas integru în România, nu face parte dintr-un circuit turistic“, mărturiseşte istoricul Căstăian.

Mihai Căstăian, istoric: „Mă frapează faptul că cel mai vechi lăcaş de cult din piatră, rămas integru în România, nu face parte dintr-un circuit turistic.“


Proprietarii nu vor să facă program de vizită

Direcţia Judeţeană pentru Cultură, Culte şi Patrimoniu Cultural Naţional Hunedoara susţine că a încercat să introducă rotonda de la Geoagiu în circuitul turistic. „Nu avem o colaborare foarte bună cu Eparhia Reformată a Ardealului. Nu am reuşit să-i facem să înţeleagă că există o lege prin care sunt obligaţi să asigure un program zilnic de vizitare. În plus, nu înţeleg că ar face rost de bani din taxa de intrare“, spune consilierul Călin Cornea. Istoricul Gheorghe Petrov este şi mai vehement. „Eparhia Reformată a concesionat zona Asociaţei Tinerilor Creştini-Reformaţi. Noii administratori sapă gropi, descoperă morminte, ascund rămăşiţele. Este o bijuterie arhitecturală acea rotondă şi este unică în România. Păcat că habar nu are nimeni de ea“, povesteşte Gheorghe Petrov, adăugând că toate demersurile sale către autorităţi s-au lovit de un zid de tăcere.

Descoperiri arheologice în zona oraşului Geoagiu

Cercetările arheologice (atât întâmplătoare cât şi cele sistematice) de pe raza oraşului Geoagiu, au adus o contribuţie importantă la cunoaşterea comunităţilor omeneşti care au trăit pe acest teritoriu. În Aurel Vlaicu, cu ocazia unor lucrări de terasament în staţia CFR, s-a descoperit, în anul 1957, un depozit compus din mai multe piese de bronz, dintre care se păstrează 2 fragmente dintr-o seceră cu cârlig şi un fragment de sabie, de tip UNIP URIU. Cercetătorii care le-au analizat le-au descris în modul următor:

1.Fragmentul de sabie cu mâner (146x25x18mm) se păstrează o parte din lamă şi o parte din limba mânerului. Lama are secţiunea romboidală mult îngroşată la mijloc, cu tăiş dublu, foarte îngust, umăr curbat cu baza mult subţiată şi în parte deteriorată; limba mânerului, de o grosime egală, puţin arcuită deasupra umărului, cu marginile lăţite pe ambele feţe. Pe laturile umărului şi pe limba mânerului se observă trei găuri de fixare a prăselelor mânerului.

2.Fragmentul de seceră – două bucaţi cu mâner în formă de cârlig mult arcuit şi subţiat, corp curbat în interior şi lăţit, muchia îngroşată cu marginea ascuţită, dos neted, o uşoară adâncitură pe faţă, paralelă cu muchia, patină de culoare verde (207x22 mm).

Fragmentul de seceră cu cârlig are numeroase analogii în depozitele de la Spalnaca, Drajna de Jos, Gusterita, Ungaria şi în regiunea subcarpatică până în Caucaz. Datarea acestui exemplar, în opinia cercetătorilor, este sigur sfârşitul bronzului. Tot În această localitate, în punctul “Izvorul Rece”, în urma unei periegheze (1978), au fost găsite materiale arheologice databile în Hallstatt-ul timpuriu, constând din fragmente ceramice şi bucaţi de chirpic cu impresiuni provenite de la nuiele. La est de sat s-a găsit într-o descoperire întâmplătoare un vas de tip Wietenberg II.La Băcâia, o descoperire întâmplătoare într-un punct neprecizat, a evidenţiat ceramica Wietenberg.

La Bozeş, în partea est a satului, a fost descoperit întâmplător, în anul 1971, un celt de bronz de tip transilvănean, bine conservat cu patina nobilă de culoare verde închis. Pe feţele laterale, o linie verticală coboară de sub buza uşor răsfrântă. Dimensiuni: lungimea – 11,7 cm; lăţimea tăişului – 4,8 cm, diametrul găurii de înmănuşire – 3,8 x 3,4 cm, adâncimea găurii de înmănuşare – 5,7 cm.

Tot la Bozeş s-a descoperit un tezaur de monede dacice, monede de imitaţie după monedele greceşti de tip macedonean, cunoscute sub denumirea de monede hibride Filip – Alexandru. Depozitul de monede, alcătuit din 39 de piese, s-a descoperit în luna aprilie 1964 în grădina lui Romolut Curuţ.

La Gelmar, la est de sat, pe o terasă joasă, în punctul “La Dig”, a fost localizată o aşezare de epoca bronzului, cultura Wietenberg.O aşezare aparţinând aceleiaşi culturi a fost descoperită şi la Geoagiu. În “Peştera de sub stâncă” şi “Sălaşul sârbilor”, aflate în masivul de tuf vulcanic de deasupra oraşului, au fost descoperite în 1876, când a fost construită cripta contelui Kun Kocsard, materiale ceramice, obieecte de piatră şi os aparţinând epocii bronzului.

În 1982, noi cercetări în zonă au recoltat numeroase fragmente de ceramică care se împart în două categorii – o ceramică de uz comun confecţionată dintr-o pastă având ca degresant nisip cu granulaţie mare, pereţi groşi, neglijent lucraţi de culoare maro şi cenuşie – o ceramică fină, mai numeroasă,dar bine reprezentată, confecţionată dintr-o pastă bine frământată având ca degresant nisipul fin. S-a considerat că, după forma şi tipul de ornamentaţie, acest tip de ceramică aparţine culturii Wietenberg, mai precis fazei a III-a a acestei culturi.

Tot de la Geoagiu, dar din locuri neprecizate, provin vase şi fragmente ceramice de tip Wietenberg şi un cercel de aur. Epoca bronzului este reprezentată şi la Renghet printr-o aşezare, cultura Wietenberg, identificată în 1980 în punctul ”La Rât”, aflat la sud-vest de sat.

II. Epoca Romană
Materialele arheologice şi epigrafice au dus la identificarea, în zona oraşului Geoagiu, a localităţii antice Germisara. Toponimicul este autentic traco-getic, cu multe analogii în sud-vestul Europei şi în Asia Mică, fiind format din “germ”, care înseamnă cald, fierbinte şi din “sara”, adică apă, şi ar avea corespondentul latinesc Aquae Calide, iar în româneşte izvoarele calde. Conţinutul toponimicului dacic indică folosirea băilor mai înainte de venirea romanilor, fapt confirmat şi de monedele (Thasos Apollonia, Dyrrachiun, denari republicani) descoperite la Geoagiu.

Antica Germisara cuprindea un castru cu canabe, o aşezare civilă şi termaele (băile) romane, întinzându-se din Valea Mureşului până la Geoagiu-Băi. Castrul ocupa platoul Turiac, în locul numit de localnici “Progadie” sau “Cetatea Urieşilor” şi găzduia unitatea militară Numerus Singulariorum Britannicorum, care, în anul 245, pune o inscripţie onorifică în cinstea împăratului Filip Arabul. Această unitate avea menirea să apere drumurile ce legau Ulpia Traiana Sarmisegetuza de Apulum, să asigure paza teritoriului, ajutaţi şi de soldaţii din Legiunea a XIII-a Gemina, care a staţionat şi ea în castru.

Săpăturile arheologice la acest castru, efectuate de un colectiv de la Muzeul Civilizaţiei Dacice şi Romane Deva, condus de doamna Adriana Pescaru, a permis identificarea primelor elemente definitorii ale castrului, respectiv o suprafaţă care în antichitate era de aproximativ 6 ha,din care jumătate a fost erodată de fluctuaţiile cursului Mureşului, o lăţime de aproximativ 320 m (EV) şi deschidere NS de aproximativ 120 m, la care se adaugă o parte din fundaţiile de ziduri ce au permis identificarea principalelor clădiri din castru ce constituiau “principia castrului”. În această zonă monedele descoperite, care se succed cronologic, arată că “principia” de la Germisara a funcţionat neîntrerupt în intervalul 100-250 d.Chr.

Ceramica puternic fragmentată constă din vase de uz curent de provenienţă dacică şi romană provincială. Ceramica dacică, descoperită la baza zidurilor şi existenţa unei monede de argint - denar datată 32-31 a.Chr - îndreptăţeşte afirmaţia că edificarea castrului s-a făcut peste o locuire dacică. Alături de ceramică şi monede, inventarul mobil din castru mai cuprinde opaiţe, fibule şi aplice, unelte de os, ţigle cu însemnele unităţilor cantonate aici (NSB şi LEG XIII sau LEG XIIIG), ţinte, cuie, scoabe, armături metalice, vârfuri de suliţe şi săgeţi.

Aşezarea civilă s-a dezvoltat pe “Lunca” dintre Cigmău şi Geoagiu şi este bogată în descoperiri arheologice. Pe malul stâng al râului Geoagiu existau cariere de piatră, iar sub teritoriul actualului oraş se extinde necropola romană din care s-au cules pietre funerare. O altă aşezare romană (de mici proporţii) se găsea pe dealul “Pedeapsa”.

Castrul şi băile au făcut să prospere în teritoriul Germisarei câteva sate romane şi vilae rusticae, care au lăsat urme arheologice. De exemplu, la Renghet, în punctul “La Luncă”, în timpul lucrărilor agricole din toamna anului 1976 a ieşit la suprafaţă un bogat şi variat material arheologic (ceramică, ţiglă, cărămidă, mortar) provenit de la o construcţie de epocă romană.

Băile Germisarei se situează la 5 km nord de castrul Cigmău, pe locul unde funcţionează şi astăzi instalaţiile balneare moderne. În afară de efectul curativ antireumatic, apele se folosesc şi pentru cura internă, în afecţiuni ale tubului digestiv, gastrite, boli hepatice, biliare şi urinare. Din punct de vedere arheologic, localitatea Geoagiu este cunoscută prin vechea aşezare dacică Germisara (Germi-fierbinte, sara izvor) care se întindea în hotarul acestei localităţi şi care a devenit sub romani Thermae Germisara sau Germisara Cum Thermis. Mărturii asupra activităţii romane în această zona sunt: drumul romanilor, urmele ”termelor” precum şi statuile descoperite aici şi dedicate lui Aesculap şi Hygeea.

Pe locul băilor romane s-au aflat urme de construcţii din zid, tuburi de teracotă marcate cu ştampila lui Lucretius Aquila, şeful unui detaşament de soldaţi salahori ai legiunii a XIII-Gemina, o serie de inscripţii, capiteluri de coloană, monede aruncate în izvoare de bolnavi.

Inscripţiile epigrafice descoperite aici menţionează prezenţa la Germisara a diverşilor demnitari romani, militari sau civili: 3 guvernatori ai Daciei, ofiţeri, magistraţi, negustori şi bogătaşi care s-au tratat aici. Aceste inscripţii sunt dedicate, cum este firesc pentru un asemenea loc, zeilor sănătăţii. Lista ar putea începe cu nimfele (naidele), ca genii nevăzute ce se scăldau în apele minerale şi le dădeau putere curativă pentru a putea fi folosite de bolnavi, ce au fost adorate, printre alţii de catre M Statius Priscus, guvernator al Daciei prin anii 157-158.

Cele mai înălţătoare mulţumiri adresate acestor protectoare ale apelor termale sunt exprimate în patru versuri gravate pe o piatră descoperită în ruinele băilor, ce se constituie în una dintre puţinele creaţii literare păstrate în teritoriile daco-romane: “Hanc tibi marmoreo cáesam de monte dicavi/ Regina undarum, nympha, decus, nemoris/ Voto damnasti perfecta quem prece Bassus/ Moenitae propter moenia Germisarae.” (Ţie, regină a apelor, nimfa, podoaba pădurii/ Bassus, ale cărui rugi tu le-ai împlinit bucuros,/ Ţi-a dedicat, dintr-o stană de marmură altarul acesta/ Lângă Germisara ta, de pe-ntărite culmi). Dintre zeii sănătăţii, mai sunt Aesculapius şi Hygea veneraţi şi de către alt guvernator al provinciei, P Furius Saturninus, care le dedica un altar combinat cu o statuetă ce-i reprezintă, găsită în anul 1939, la Geoagiu.

Lista panteonului se completează cu inscripţii votive puse pentru: Jupiter Capitolianul, Fortuna, Liber Pater şi Libera Mater, Sol Invictus, Deus aeternus şi Dii Patroni. Aceste inscripţii menţionează nume latineşti, mulţi cu domiciliu în Germisara, dovada unei puternice romanizări, dar nu ne spun nimic despre organizarea administrativ – comunală a Germisarei, care a fost foarte probabil un Pagus (centru zonal) ce făcea parte din marele teritoriu al capitalei Sarmisegetuza.

Cercetările arheologice începute în anul 1986 de către doamna Adriana Rusu Pescaru şi ceilalţi arheologi de la Muzeul Cililizaţiei Dacice şi Romane Deva, continuate şi în anii următori în punctul numit de localnici “Dâmbul Romanilor” din actuala staţiune Geoagiu-Băi, au dus la identificarea complexului termal din perioada romană, stabilind modul cum a fost construit şi a funcţionat acest complex. Cecetările au stabilit că în perioada romană complexul a funcţionat în două faze: una exclusiv de suprafaţă (faza I) şi a doua în subteran şi la suprafaţă (faza a II-a).Încercăm să redăm pe scurt principalele idei:

Mamelonul de travertin şi sulf calcaros pe care au fost identificate termae-le are o formă circulară cu diametrul de 90-95 m şi în centrul mamelonului se află o cavitate naturală, rezultat al activităţii apelor termale din subteran. În antichitate, această cavitate, cu o deschidere la partea superioară de 18x12 m şi o adâncime maximă de aproximativ 7 m, având formă de pâlnie, era plină cu apă termală. Romanii au descoperit acest “lac” şi au constatat efectele benefice ale apelor şi probabil să fi făcut baie direct, dar mai târziu au început amenajarea acestui loc prin construirea unor canale de dirijare a apei de la sursă spre bazinele săpate în pământ şi căptuşite cu scândură. Canalele, prin care apa curgea prin cădere, au fost realizate prin cioplire direct în stânca locului, traseul fiind completat cu tegulae şi mortar.

Aceste amenajări au făcut ca lacul să devină un loc de cult, în interiorul lui fiind descoperite peste 600 de monede de bronz şi argint, o frumoasă statuie a zeiţei Diana, altare votive (dispuse cândva în jurul cavităţii şi prăbuşite ulterior în interior), precum şi şapte plăcuţe votive din aur, dedicate zeităţilor tămăduitoare şi protectoare ale apelor termale (Diana, Hygia şi Nymphae). Au mai fost identificate două construcţii de epocă romană, una cu destinaţie religioasă, cea de-a doua probabil staţionar, iar la est de cele două construcţii, pe o suprafaţă apreciabilă, au fost identificate un număr mare de altare votive dedicate Dianei şi Nymphae-lor de către ofiţerii superiori ai legiunilor aflate în castrele de la Cigmău şi Apulum şi se poate presupune că avem de-a face cu o zonă sacră. În fine, în partea de vest a cavităţii, a fost identificat cu bazin compartiment cu două încăperi.

În decursul timpului, la un moment dat, s-a produs o fisurare a mamelonului, datorată unei mişcări tectonice sau a presiunii ridicate a gazului din interior, ceea ce a dus la scăderea nivelului lacului cu 2 m sub nivelul iniţial, făcând inutile amenajările existente. Ca urmare a acestui fapt, a fost săpată o galerie în sistem de minerit orientată nord-sud şi amenajarea acesteia în funcţie de necesităţi. Pe traiectul acestei galerii au fost construite două încăperi pentru baie. Faza de amenajare de suprafaţă cuprindea două bazine: unul mai mic 3,5x2 m, posibil destinat copiilor, iar altul mai mare 5,5x4 m, care, în decursul timpului a fost alungit. Pe un canal de legătură în această zonă a fost descoperită în timpul campaniei din 1991 cea de-a VIII-a plăcuţă de aur dedicată Nymphae-lor. Ultima informaţie oferită în legătură cu perioada romană se referă la o erupţie din subteran cu apă termală şi mâl bogat în calcar şi oxid de fier, care se solidifică repede, formând un tuf calcaros ce acoperă în parte monumentele şi amenajările din perioada romană, fără însă să se poată preciza momentul în care s-a produs acest fenomen şi dacă are legătură cu abandonarea băilor de către romani.

III. Epoca feudală
Săpăturile arheologice efectuate la Geoagiu-Băi de colectivul condus de doamna Adriana Rusu Pescaru au evidenţiat urme de construcţie de epocă feudală suprapuse peste amenajările din perioada romană.
Este vorba de substrucţiile din piatră a două clădiri aflate în partea de sud-est a mamelonului, apoi o a treia clădire din partea de vest, care a funcţionat ca şi capela catolică până când a fost demolată. Acestora li se adaugă o a patra construcţie, probabil han, situată pe partea de nord a mamelonului, orientată cu latura lungă (aproximativ 17 m) pe direcţia est-vest. Planul acestei construcţii nu a putut fi stabilit în întregime din cauza unor intervenţii contemporane, dar poate fi sesizat faptul că era alcătuită din trei încăperi. Aceste mărturii arheologice confirmă, după cum vom vedea pe parcursul lucrării consemnările de epocă referitoare la activitatea complexului termal în perioada feudală.

În oraşul Geoagiu, arheologul Gheorghe Petrov de la Muzeul Naţional de Istorie a Transilvaniei, Cluj-Napoca, a efectuat cercetări arheologice la biserica cu plan central (rotonda), începând cu anul 1993. Din aceste cercetări s-au desprins următoarele concluzii: biserica este o construcţie de zidărie alcătuită dintr-o navă circulară cu diametrul interior de 5,50 m continuată spre răsărit cu o absidă semicirculară lungă de 2 m şi care are o deschidere înspre navă de 3 m, edificiul fiind singura rotondă din ţară în această variantă de plan, care se mai păstrează încă în picioare, fiind construită din cărămidă romană refolosită, în asociaţie cu o cantitate mai redusă de piatră de râu şi carieră.

Cercetările au dovedit faptul că aceasta a fost ridicată cel mai devreme pe la sfârşitul secolului al XI-lea sau la începutul secolului următor, datare considerată provizorie, fiind cel mai vechi edificiu de cult de pe cuprinsul ţării, care este conservat integral, cu unele modificări constructive intervenite de-a lungul timpului. În exteriorul bisericii au fost cercetate un număr de 172 de morminte, primele înmormântări au fost practicate în sec. al XI-lea, în vremea domniei regelui Ladislau I al Ungariei (1077-1095), iar ultimele în cursul secolului al XVIII-lea. În interiorul bisericii au fost cercetate 27 de morminte, iar inventarul funerar recuperat constă în monede medievale de argint (cea mai veche monedă este un obol emis în vremea regelui Belaal VI-lea (1235-1270), accesorii vestimentare, resturi textile şi obiecte de podoabă). Bineînţeles, cercetările viitoare vor completa aceste informaţii, oferind o imagine mai amănunţită a acstui obiectiv arheologic.

Evolutia istorică a oraşului Geoagiu
Localitatea este atestată la 1271 când este pomenit un „comes de Gyog” (comite) şi mai sigur la 1291 când este pomenită localitatea Geoagiu în legătură cu o delimitare de proprietăţi ce mai priveşte satele Aurel Vlaicu şi Gelmar. Referitor la denumirea localitaţii se confruntă 2 teorii şi anume una împărtăşită de Iorgu Iordan care afirmă că denumirea provine din maghiarul dio „nucă” diod „nucet”, în timp ce un alt învăţat Gustav Kirch susţine că este vorba de un „loc cu ape minerale calde” de la maghiarul gyogy „cură”. În sprijinul primei explicaţii stă Poiana Nucilor, numele unei porţiuni din hotarul localitatii Geoagiu, asemănător şi Geoagiu de Sus renumit pentru pomicultura sa.

O nouă atestare avem pentru anul 1397 când Gurzo, fiul lui Ioan de Maramureş obţine ca donaţie regală din partea regelui Sigismund moşia Geoagiul de Jos în comitatul Hunedoara. Acelaşi Sigismund dăruieşte domeniul la 1404, 1407 si 1412 jumătate familiei Töreki jumatate familiei Dénesi .De multe ori actele de danie se referă şi la celelalte sate din zonă care sunt enumerate împreuna cu localitatea Geoagiu, cum este cazul la 1407 şi 1412, când între alte sate sunt amintite: Homorod, Bozeş şi Mermezeu. La 1444 neamul Töreki stingându-se, familia Dénesi a obţinut întregul domeniul pe care l-au stăpânit până la 1467, când Dénesi-estii trăitori pe atunci, Ioan şi Andreiu, amestecaţi fiind în răscoala nobilimii transilvănene împotriva lui Mateiu Corvin au fost desposedaţi, iar domeniul dat de Rege la 1468 lui Ioan Pongrácz voievodul Ardealului. Acesta stapâni Geoagiul pana la sfârşitul vieţii sale, în 1476. Tot aşa fiul său Mateiu până în 1501, dată când domeniul a fost conferit lui Ioan Corvin care, murind in 1504, îl lasă fiului său Cristofor, care nu l-a stăpânit decât un an deoarece s-a stins fără urmaşi.

Ca urmare, în 1505 domeniul trece în posesia de drept a regelui Vadislav al II- lea. În acelaşi an, în 14 august, Vladislav îi dă zălog lui Ştefan Tarczai, comitele secuilor: oraşul “opidum” Geoagiu pentru 12000 de galbeni pentru că regele era dator acestui comite pentru serviciile făcute în administraţie. O vreme regele a rămas dator acestui comite şi dupa 3 ani l-a despăgubit cu domeniul Onod, iar domeniul Geoagiu de Jos îl oferă în semn de bună vecinătate voievodului muntean Radu al IV – lea Cel Mare care domnind şi în timpul tatălui său, Vlad Călugărul a fost atât vasalul ungurilor, cât şi al turcilor, care in 1494 a fost în Ardeal şi a adus omagiu regelui Vladislav al II-lea şi care într-un document în legătură cu saşii s-a declarat membru al ţării ungureşti şi care în ultimul an al vieţii sale, în 1508 îl vizitează personal la Buda pe regele Vladislav pe care îl onorează cu cai de rasă şi lucruri scumpe.

În 1510 neamul lui Radu cel mare fiind privit ca stins, domeniul Geoagiu este donat de regele Ungariei nobilului Ioan Podmanicziti ca şi garanţie pentru împrumut, dar nu peste mult timp, în 1517, domeniul este donat unui alt domn muntean, lui Neagoe Basarab, pentru servicii aduse regelui, iar actul de înregistrare din 1518 pomeneşte şi satele Renghet, Băcâia, Bozes, Cigmău, Homorod. În 1523, în urma năvălirii turcilor, pentru că l-au apărat pe regele Ungariei, boierii pribegi Horvat Logofatul şi Vancea Vistierul primesc de la regele Ludovic al II-lea toate proprietăţiile care în urma decesului voievodului Basarab au redevenit proprietate regală, donaţia (sau o parte din ea) este reînoită în 1526, boierii sus-numiţi ,,de ani de zile trăind în aceste locuri”.  

Nu se ştie cu certitudine cât a durat stapânirea românească asupra Geoagiului, până la 1537 sau după alte opinii, care par mai probabile, doar până la 1531, când, odată cu secularizarea averilor mănăstireşti, regele Ioan Zapolia a secularizat şi Geoagiul - opidumul cu castelelul patrulater fortificat şi împreună cu 18 sate (printre care şi băile) oferindu-le ca donaţie regală celui mai credincios dintre căpitanii săi, lui Kun Kocsard. După moartea acestuia, neavând moştenitori de parte bărbătească, domeniul Geoagiu ar fi ajuns la cancelarul Stefan Vörbczi, dar nu după mult timp găsim Geoagiul în mâinile lui Kun Lazar, fratele lui Kun Kocsard de la care îl ia regele Ferdinand I in 1555 pentru ca a aprovizionat şi a ajutat pe voievozii din Moldova şi Muntenia veniţi să dea ajutor reginei Izabela ( Zapolia).

După un anumit timp domeniul Geoagiu sau o parte din el apare din nou în stăpânirea urmaşilor familiei Kun, care au primit mai târziu titluri nobiliare de conţi şi baroni. Un Kun Gothard apare ca proprietar al satului Geogiu, legat de nişte neîntelegeri cu Scaunul Săsesc Orăştie. Motivul l-a constituit reaşezarea semnelor de hotar deteriorate din cauza repetatelor prăbuşiri de teren din lunca Mureşului. La 24 mai 1630 principeasa Caterina de Brandenburg ordonă prelaţilor din Alba-Iulia să trimită reprezentanţi aleşi, care alături de delegatul numit de ea să reedifice semnele distruse. Cazul nu a fost rezolvat, deoarece la 11 iulie oamenii capitului o anunţau pe principeasă că au fost opriţi în realizarea însărcinării asumate de către magistratul orăştian, care la momentul stabilit şi la locul litigios a apărut o trupă mare de puscaşi împiedicând activitatea lor prin atacuri repetate.

În această situaţie, preoţii capitului propun atunci ca principeasa însăşi să cheme pe consilierii oraştieni la ordine pentru ca să se justifice. Rezolvarea cazului va intârzia din cauza schimbărilor produse la conducerea Transilvaniei şi abia în anul următor magistratul Michael Thoroczkay, pronotarul noului prinicpe Rákoczi I, va aplana conflictul.

În afară de familia Kun există în zonă şi alţi nobili, posesiunile fiind fragmentate, astfel găsim Geoagiu printre domenile administrate de Ana Bornemissza soţia principiului Mihai Apafi (1661-1691). Pentru acest domeniu s-au păstrat conscripţiile urbariale din 1691 şi 1697, când domeniul aparţinea prinicipelui Mihai Apafi junior. Conform conscriptiei din 1691, domeniul consta din frânturi, porţiuni de sate, în total 13, cuprinzând 76 iobagi şi 4 jeleri, cu un total de 101 fii, mai fiind mentionaţi 12 iobagi fugiţi şi 3 sesii pustii din cauza greutăţilor de atunci. Porţiunile de sate care ne interersează sunt: Geoagiu cu 10 iobagi şi 8 fii , Renghet 3 iobagi cu 4 fii, Bozeş 1 iobag cu 2 fii şi la fel Homorod, celelalte porţuni fiind la Ocolişul Mare, Boşorod, Mada, Voia, Balşa, Almaşul de Mijloc, Techereu, Ardeu, Nădăştia. Obligaţiile faţa de nobil, înscrise în urbarii, pentru cei de la Geoagiu sunt definite scurt: sunt datori cu slujba de fiecare zi, dau a zecea parte din toate bucatele, din oi, albine, porci, răscumpărarea porcului neîngrăşat fiind de 2 dinari a celui îngrăşat fiind de 10 dinari, iar în legătură cu daturile (darurile) o situatie interesantă ’’până acum găină de Crăciun, unt, miere n-au dat ca atunci când măriile lor veneau la băi, strângeau de la ei de la fiecare cât se putea strânge’’ .

În această perioadă, băile de la Geoagiu fac ca localitatea să fie cunoscută şi peste hotare. În 1595 a apărut la Venetia, Geografia sau Descrierea Universala a Pământului de Giovani Antonio Magini în care se precizează că în Transilvania se află izvoare termale felurite: cele de la Geoagiu (’’ Iogieşi’’) şi cele de la Oradea, aceste calde celelalte reci. Mai târziu, în 1656, un ambasador suedez face o vizită în Transilvania întovărăşit de secretarul Hiltebrandt, care a lăsat o relatare a călătoriei făcute, oferind informaţii intereresante despre băile de aici, care sunt caracterizate drept băile calde tămăduitoare de la Geoagiu (Goig).

Descrierea este pitorească : ’’apa venea dintr-un deal pe o câmpie si era potrivit de caldă, acolo se afla o casă stricată, în care erau diferite cămăruţe, dar în ele nu se găsea nimic, pe pereţi erau mâzgălite multe nume. Acolo unde cădea apa cu repeziciune, se afla sus o stâncă îngustă de piatră, unde puteau şedea 2 persoane spate în spate, iar jos era un spaţiu mare în formă de dreptunghi, în care se putea înota cu apa până aproape de gât… Românii se scaldă deseori aici, s-a bălăcit după aceea şi o româncă în fusta ei neagră’’.

Înainte de a trece la problematica sec. al- XVIII –lea, mult mai vastă, se impune o scurtă trecere în revistă a localităţilor ce aparţin de oraşul Geoagiu, făcând precizarea că şi aici menţiunile documentare se referă mai mult la schimbările de stăpânire a domeniilor ceea ce a impus să le tratăm separat.

Aurel Vlaicu (Binţinţi) e atestat în acel document din 1291 de care am pomenit, care menţionează că Binţinţiul (terra Sotheluk) este vândut de Ştefan şi Domnic, fii lui Benchench din neamul secuilor, comiţilor Daniel şi Solomon fii lui Cheel din Câlnic, pentru suma de 20 florini. Hotarul satului trecea pe lângă pământurile saşilor din Romos şi Oraştie, apoi până la hotarul satului Gelmar, iar în partea de miazănoapte atingând satul Geoagiu 19.

În 1900, Enciclopedia Română, publicată la Sibiu, o adevărată sinteză a vieţiii româneşti din Transilvania, consacră două articole localităţilor din zonă şi anume – Gioagiu de jos-Joseni, (maghiar Algyógy-Alfalu, Al-Gyógy) comună în Transilvania, cott. Hunedoarei, 993 locuitori din care 812 români, 44 maghiari, 34 germani. Stabiliment de cură balneară, izvoare calde, alcalice, pentru reumă, boale femeiesci, anemie ş.a. Aici se află castelul contelui Kun Kocsárd, pe a cărui bun de la 1891 este o şcoală economică pentru secui. Gioagiu de sus-Suseni (Algyógy-Felfalu), aproape de jos, 1132 locuitori din care români 938, maghiari 112, germani 67. Aceste 2 sate au o şcoală comună.

În 1905 un călător de marcă, Nicolae Iorga, vizitează zona, savantul român călatoreşte într-o trăsură, aşa că poate observa natura ţinutului, casele oamenilor şi situaţia lor materială, lucrarea câmpului, instituţiile rurale. Prima localitate semnalată de călător e Gelmar: “Pe lângă cucuruze ce se culeg, ajungem în sătuleţul Gelmar sau Jelmar, care se vesteşte de departe prin turnul subţiratic al bisericii. E o aşezare foarte mică şi destul de săracă, a cărei vechime trebuie să fie mare. Unii au crezut că descoperă în Gelmar o Germisara dacică, iar în veacul trecut episcopul Clain îl lamurea prin Dealu-Mare, Ghial-mare...Căsuţele sunt despărţite prin curţi mari, împrejmuite cu nuiele; sunt multe coperişe de stub şi nimic nu-ţi aminteşte rânduiala bună, înstărirea satelor. Mureşul se trece aici pe un mare pod de fier, ce se încoardă peste întinderea lină a râului alb în care vântul trezeşte însă creţuri multe şi pripite, ce fug pe stânga”.

Autorul descrie că după pod începe ţinutul “iobăgimii”. La celălalt capăt al podului, chiar lângă cocioaba brudarului, care strânge crăiţarii sau „librele” pentru arendaşul evreu, pornesc să urce pe dealurile de tină cleioase, Geoagiurile, Joajiurile. “Cel mai mult pământ aici e al domnilor. Odată erau numai boieranşi ungureşti, cu obiceiuri primitive şi cu cerbicia neînvinsă. La Geoagiu, poprietatea lui Kun Kocsard, din neamul acelui, mort deunăzi, care crezându-se de viţa cumană a tipărit Codex Cumanicus, şi şi-a lăsat averea pentru scopuri culturale maghiare...El a dat sprijin în nevoie, în satul său chiar, şi-a lăsat câmpii şi marele castel pentru ca întrânsul copiii secuilor flămânzi să înveţe în brazda românească agricultura modernă”.

Textul despre Geoagiu sat rămas de la N.Iorga, oferă şi alte numeroase date despre banca ce funcţiona aici, la fel despre pretură şi stema ce o avea. Mai departe călătorul din România se îndreaptă spre Feredeu (Geoagiu Băi) :” Voia vreunui „domn” din vremuri a suit pe unul din dealurile, din predealurile vecine, un nou sătuleţ românesc al Geoagiului, lângă o baie de iod, cercetată vara, care-i dă numele de “Feredeu”. Te sui pe o nouă şosea şerpuitoare, sub peretele de humă vânată şi de pământ roşietic, tot aşa de cleioase pe lângă mari stânci de piatră pentru clădiri. Jos se desfăşoară o minunată privelişte de livezi şi grupe de arbori , peste care se înalţă vârfurile drepte, ţepene, triste, ale unor bătrâni plopi uriaşi din timpurile stăpânirii magnaţilor. Peste această învălmaşeală hrănită de cursul grăbit al râului de munte, care se cheamă apa Geoagiului, după numele satului, se clădesc alte dealuri măreţe, de pe care civilizaţia a curăţat în mare parte pădurile. E prefaţă Munţilor Apuseni.

Feredeul e un sătucean nespus de sărac, trăind în bordeie afumate, din vânzarea prunelor şi din lucrul tăierii lemnelor, fiind aproape fără holde. Într-un fel de poieniţa frumoasă, o dârămătură de stâlpi cu fereştele golite, se cheamă că e şcolă – scoală fară învaţător şi şcolari. Bisericuţa cu turnuri de lemn, făcută în 1819, n-are preot, ci se ajută cu unul din Geoagiu. Ea se dărâmă pe încetul, iar venitul ei de la o moară cu coperişurile roşii, ce se vede între copacii de jos e cheltuit tot pentru leafa preotului şi a crâsnicului bătrân, care ne întâmpină” .

La începutul veacului avem şi unele realizări spirituale, datorită preoţilor şi intelectualităţii din zonă. În 16 decembrie 1906, I.Popovici, protopop al Geoagiului şi directorul Despărţamântului ASTRA, Orăştie, a înfiinţat în Geoagiu o agentură si o bibliotecă poporală de 60 de carţi şi anume: 38 broşuri primite de la Comitetul Central şi 22 cărţi dăruite de G.Todică, A.Roşu şi I.Henţa din Geoagiu, iar în anul următor printre cei care ţin prelegeri din partea ASTREI, găsim pe G.Todică şi I.Popovici.

Agenţia ASTRA din Geoagiu a înfiinţat în localitate “Georgeana”, o însoţire de credit de tip Reiffesen.
Reprezentativ pentru aceste perioade putem aminti: pentru perioada ocupaţiei romane- ”Cetatea Uriaşului”, iar mai târziu, din sec. XII-”Capela Romanică”.



Recent Videos

Recent Blog Entries

Newest Members